Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site April 23, 2014, 11:44:35 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Read the full one-year retrospective report on DonationCoder.com.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 ... 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Latest FARR Release v2.213.01 - Nov 29, 2013  (Read 220669 times)
cranioscopical
Friend of the Site
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,157



see users location on a map View Profile Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #450 on: February 15, 2012, 03:08:56 AM »

after some discussion with hamradio, we noticed that the missing snipping tool is related to a windows component called "tablet pc component". it is worth a try to see if that is consistent with all the other PCs plagued with this problem.
Am I right to assume that the probem occurs with that component active?
Logged

Chris
IainB
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,286


Slartibartfarst

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #451 on: February 15, 2012, 04:46:47 PM »

No, I think the discussion is suggesting that the Tablet PC Component feature needs to be turned ON.
In any event, it is not true in my case, as this feature was already turned ON, but the Snipping tool still does not launch from FARR (I get no error messages when it fails to launch):
Conclusion: a .lnk for SnippingTool will execute [from FARR] only if it is outside of the C:\Windows\System32\ directory.
Logged
IainB
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 4,286


Slartibartfarst

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #452 on: February 15, 2012, 05:09:46 PM »

Is anyone else getting new exception errors under win7 with one of my plugins installed?  I have a feeling that
Just wanted to note that I have not been getting any exception errors, so far.
Logged
justauser
Participant
*
Posts: 18

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #453 on: February 20, 2012, 06:20:46 AM »

I get a crash any time I try to use the farr windows seach plugin.  Here is the info windows had in the box when I crashed just now:

Problem Event Name:   APPCRASH
  Application Name:   FindAndRunRobot.exe
  Application Version:   2.104.2.0
  Application Timestamp:   00000000
  Fault Module Name:   StackHash_e4fa
  Fault Module Version:   6.1.7601.17725
  Fault Module Timestamp:   4ec49b8f
  Exception Code:   c0000374
  Exception Offset:   000ce6c3
  OS Version:   6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
  Locale ID:   1033
  Additional Information 1:   e4fa
  Additional Information 2:   e4fa9d7c64136e319e3e5cb5b298a157
  Additional Information 3:   2b2f
  Additional Information 4:   2b2f11bbf0b34e668df5af372320eed0
Logged
skajfes
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 204


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #454 on: March 03, 2012, 01:39:33 PM »

february 2011?  cheesy
Logged

It is impossible to make anything foolproof because fools are so ingenious.
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,693



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #455 on: March 03, 2012, 02:28:07 PM »

oops
Logged
Josh
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 3,298



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #456 on: March 03, 2012, 02:31:15 PM »

Any word on FARR 3.0 with SSC 3.0 out the door?
Logged

Strength in Knowledge
Tuxman
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,361


OMG not him again!

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #457 on: March 03, 2012, 02:36:29 PM »

The website still says 2.104.01?
Logged

I bet when Cheetahs race and one of them cheats, the other one goes "Man, you're such a Cheetah!" and they laugh & eat a zebra or whatever.
- @VeryGrumpyCat
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,693



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #458 on: March 03, 2012, 03:00:21 PM »

FARR 3.0 will include an option for indexing and probably a revamped plugin system.  release date unknown.
Logged
Josh
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 3,298



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #459 on: March 03, 2012, 03:12:28 PM »

When do you plan to initiate development?
Logged

Strength in Knowledge
anishm
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #460 on: March 06, 2012, 09:33:18 PM »

FARR 3.0 will include an option for indexing and probably a revamped plugin system.  release date unknown.

Hi Mouser

FARR is one of my "must install" apps on every new PC!

Not sure where to put this feature request but that why I like DC - very accepting of our human limitations. smiley

Please would you consider a "Clone Entry" or "Copy Entry" option in the Lists-> search folder settings. I.e. if I have a current folder added, it will copy all the settings into the dialog box so I can just add a new name!

Thanks for fantastic software.



Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,693



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #461 on: March 07, 2012, 05:31:58 AM »

Thanks for the kind words anishm -- Clone entry sounds like a reasonable idea.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,693



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #462 on: April 01, 2012, 11:09:40 AM »

Small update:

Version 2.105.01 - April 1, 2012
  • [Feature] New option to position FARR window centered on current monitor when triggered.
  • [Feature] For portable users, program now checks for ConfigDir_Default.ini if ConfigDir.ini not found; prevents your custom ConfigDir.ini file from being overwritten when unpacking portable distribution zip.
  • [Feature] For portable users, StartWithWindows option now starts unchecked on first use, if running in portable mode.
  • [Feature] ConfigDir.ini directory now supports environmental variable replacement, including %COMPUTERNAME%.
  • [Feature] Pressing Ctrl while you hit Enter will now launch the selected (or first if in search box) item AND keep the FARR window open.
  • [Doc] Added note about excluding FARR from Microsoft Security Essentials antivirus for better performance.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,693



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #463 on: April 01, 2012, 11:52:00 AM »

Note: I made the new "center on current cursor window" default, so people would discover the feature.  To disable and have FARR always remember where it was last shown, go to the Display Options tab and uncheck the relevant checkbox.
Logged
ewemoa
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,244



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #464 on: April 01, 2012, 06:27:28 PM »

Thanks for the update smiley

Made a screenshot to aid in enabling / disabling the centering on current monitor behavior:

Logged
Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,666



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #465 on: April 01, 2012, 10:14:41 PM »

Thanks mouser !
I don't know if you missed it, but I don't think that only MSE affects farr's performance. Avast seems to cause similar problems : http://www.donationcoder....29756.msg279427#msg279427

Don't know about other antivirus.

Maybe you should add a few words concerning that possibility... something like :

Quote
It has been confirmed that Microsoft Security Essentials antivirus (and possibly other antivirus and HIPS) can slow down FARR searching (and result in delays/pauses during searching).

The fix is to exclude FARR's process from MSE (or other antivirus) scans.

For more info and instructions see:

http://www.donationcoder....m/index.php?topic=29756.0


Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,666



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #466 on: April 01, 2012, 10:24:04 PM »

  • [Feature] Pressing Ctrl while you hit Enter will now launch the selected (or first if in search box) item AND keep the FARR window open.
This doesn't seem to work here. Is the option to be found somewhere and I missed it ?
"Close window after launch by defaut " is checked, but... I thought that maybe the point of the Ctrl+Enter feature was to circumstantially circumvent the default closing... Am I wrong in that assumption?  smiley[/list]
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
ewemoa
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,244



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #467 on: April 02, 2012, 06:53:18 PM »

FWIW, it seems to be working here.

Not sure if these are relevant, but screenshot of some options for the local setup follows below:



Logged
Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,666



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #468 on: April 02, 2012, 08:37:16 PM »

@ewemoa : That's very nice of you. Thanks. It still doesn't work though; some other setting is probably conflicting... Unfortunately I  don't have enough time to debug this at the moment. Maybe next weekend.

@mouser : I saw that ctrl+shift+arrow(L/R) for quick selection in farr is still no selecting anything. Can we expect a "fix" soon ?   smiley  (I'm calling this a "fix" as it used to work a few versions ago)
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,693



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #469 on: April 03, 2012, 11:31:35 PM »

Armando, see if you maybe have that option above set in the radio box "Hide When Focus Is Lost" -- that can cause some odd behavior.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,693



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #470 on: April 03, 2012, 11:32:17 PM »

Quote
@mouser : I saw that ctrl+shift+arrow(L/R) for quick selection in farr is still no selecting anything. Can we expect a "fix" soon ?  (I'm calling this a "fix" as it used to work a few versions ago)

yes i will try to figure out what is going on with this.
Logged
ewemoa
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,244



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #471 on: April 04, 2012, 03:21:47 PM »

see if you maybe have that option above set in the radio box "Hide When Focus Is Lost" -- that can cause some odd behavior.

FWIW, here, toggling

  Options
    Window Options
      Focus Preservation
        Hide When Focus Is Lost

seems to toggle the new Control+Enter behavior here -- if any of the other radio buttons are set, the new behavior appears to be in effect.
Logged
Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,666



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #472 on: April 06, 2012, 12:22:04 AM »

Armando, see if you maybe have that option above set in the radio box "Hide When Focus Is Lost" -- that can cause some odd behavior.

Thanks !
It doesn't seem to change anything here.

Here are my settings :








FWIW, here, toggling

  Options
    Window Options
      Focus Preservation
        Hide When Focus Is Lost

seems to toggle the new Control+Enter behavior here -- if any of the other radio buttons are set, the new behavior appears to be in effect.

Thanks ewemoa.
Doesn't seem to apply in my case. Unless I'm misunderstanding your explanations... Which entirely possible.
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
ewemoa
Honorary Member
**
Posts: 2,244



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #473 on: April 06, 2012, 03:03:58 AM »

Armando,

FWIW, I mirrored your settings, but I still have access to the new behavior...
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,693



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #474 on: April 06, 2012, 12:54:43 PM »

Armando, can you walk us through an example of it not working?
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 ... 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.054s | Server load: 0.01 ]