Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site April 20, 2014, 08:28:53 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Free DonationCoder.com Member Kit: Submit Request.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 ... 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 ... 22 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Latest FARR Release v2.213.01 - Nov 29, 2013  (Read 220547 times)
dandersahn
Charter Member
***
Posts: 20

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #300 on: June 23, 2009, 02:15:12 PM »

Yep.  Using the exact same settings I see the problem in 2.66 but not in 2.61. 

What's interesting is that, as you noted, with some degree of transparency enabled, the same "black box" appears every time the window resizes.  With no transparency it only happens when the window is initially resized the first time.  I have transparency turned off and fade into view turned on now, so I don't get the black box any longer.


Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #301 on: June 23, 2009, 02:25:16 PM »

ok i think i have enough to solve this -- though i may try to get you v 2.63 to help me narrow down my focus.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #302 on: June 24, 2009, 03:20:37 AM »

ok i think i might have found it.. stay tuned and thanks for all the help dan+nod.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #303 on: June 26, 2009, 07:20:16 PM »

minor update:

Version 2.67.01 - June 26th, 2009
  • [BugFix] Pressing * on numpad was ignored if you had the "launch with numpad option set"
  • [MinorFeature] Plugins can now call resolve:filename to have FARR fixup the location of a file if the drive letter has changed.
  • [MinorFeature] Toolbar buttons that try to perform a restartsearch by invoking the FindAndRunRobot.exe are now simply passed along directly to the running process.'
  • [MinorFeature] Toolbar button links are now resolved if they refer to files whose drive letters have changed (portable use).
  • [BugFix] Calling setsearch and window.show from a plugin was causing hidden window to appear but search text to be ignored.  Hopefully the fix won't break anything -- let me know if it does.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #304 on: June 28, 2009, 10:21:50 PM »

Version 2.68.01 - June 29th, 2009
  • [BugFix] Using the new "dolaunch" feature when your hotkey is set to not-clear text resulted in FARR launching the item every time it was displayed.
  • [BugFix] The visit alias and explore here right-context menus were not being shown appropriately for all result items.
  • [MinorFeature] Added values that plugin can get to help center pop-up forms on the current monitor displaying the FARR main form.
Logged
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,061



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #305 on: July 08, 2009, 05:20:38 AM »

Version 2.68.01 - June 29th, 2009

this one seems to have zapped my settings (not that I had messed with the settings that much) & history
e.g. no longer searches my portable software folder
Logged

Tom
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,061



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #306 on: July 08, 2009, 06:35:40 AM »

Version 2.68.01 - June 29th, 2009
this one seems to have zapped my settings (not that I had messed with the settings that much) & history
e.g. no longer searches my portable software folder

I guess you could call this user error:

I was typing in some other app when the Install dialog box opened in front with install location so default location (text) was replaced by whatever I was typing. I browsed to install folder C:\Program Files\FindAndRunRobot\
but it installed into folder
C:\Program Files\FindAndRunRobot\FindAndRunRobot
which is then correct I guess . .

Should I simply delete that folder (the extra install) or actually uninstall it (dont want to lose the settings of the 'real' install) ?
Logged

Tom
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #307 on: July 08, 2009, 10:04:33 AM »

you can just delete, no need to uninstall.
but you do need to run the installer and point it to the real place afterwards.

i.e. it's important to have the latest install be to the right location, and it's going to default to the previous location when you run the next install, so pay attention to the location that is set as default when you run the next install.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #308 on: July 08, 2009, 10:06:38 AM »

minor update:

Version 2.70.01 - July 7th, 2009
  • [BugFix] Using the igo alias multiple times could result in an error about "Resource In Use" for users with old versions of Internet Explorer 6 installed.
  • [BugFix] Attempt to fix icon display and launching for some .LNK shortcuts (especially x64 programs on x64 OS); let's see if this breaks anything for other users.
  • [BugFix] Clarified the statusbar display during initial searching.
  • [MinorFeature] Program now checks file existence of previous launch history on startup which should avoid the delay on first search.
Logged
Lashiec
Member
**
Posts: 2,374


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #309 on: July 11, 2009, 11:00:02 AM »

[BugFix] Attempt to fix icon display and launching for some .LNK shortcuts (especially x64 programs on x64 OS); let's see if this breaks anything for other users.

It did Sad. All my customized links for Internet-facing applications are showing a generic executable icon, and other icons are not being shown correctly (Steam, for example)
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #310 on: July 11, 2009, 11:08:50 AM »

lashiec, can you clarify -- did it work in older versions of FARR, but just not this new one? are you on an x64 OS? Which OS?
and can you clarify what icons are showing incorrectly? any clues about which ones?
Logged
Lashiec
Member
**
Posts: 2,374


see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #311 on: July 11, 2009, 11:36:24 AM »

Yup, it used to work on older versions (AFAIK in all I ever had). I'm on Windows XP SP3, 32-bit. Yeah, the ones showing up incorrectly are the ones who use DropMyRights to reduce the rights of the launched applications, like so:

Quote
"C:\Archivos de programa\DropMyRights\DropMyRights.exe" "C:\Archivos de programa\Opera\Opera.exe"

Also, the Steam icon shows an unknown icon (looks to be part of Windows standard icons). This is one of these strange shortcuts which does not specify a program to be launched, the "Target" field is greyed out, and simply reads "Steam". Plus, the Half-Life shortcut shows the Steam icon, instead of the usual encircled red lambda.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2009, 11:42:09 AM by Lashiec » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #312 on: July 11, 2009, 11:47:47 AM »

ok i gotcha.. i will fix this weekend, shouldn't be a problem.
Logged
d4ni
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 128


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #313 on: July 12, 2009, 05:03:27 AM »

Mouser what did you do!? Apparently you tried to fix some icon display issues but now you messed up some for me Sad They have always worked before.

~edit: oh and I just noticed the statusbar reports "Found n+1 results in x seconds" for n items -- in the attached screenshot it reports finding 2 results but it just found one. This does not always happen but usually it does, quite strange. I don't have any other file named 'standby' or something in my search folders if I recall correctly.

I attached the .ico file (rename it from .txt as it's not allowed to post .ico files... lol)
I attached a .zip file containing all 3 .ico files from the screenshot.


* no_icon.png (20.21 KB, 556x289 - viewed 301 times.)
* standby.txt (29.22 KB - downloaded 194 times.)
* power.zip (38.39 KB - downloaded 162 times.)
« Last Edit: July 12, 2009, 05:11:52 AM by d4ni » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #314 on: July 12, 2009, 05:12:10 AM »

You are reporting same problem as Lashiec it seems, i should have it fixed tomorrow.
The n+1 results i think is due to duplicates being removed.
Logged
d4ni
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 128


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #315 on: July 12, 2009, 05:15:36 AM »

Thanks for your quick answer Mouser.

About the n+1 items: I also thought about the duplicates but it actually turns out to be a slight bug anyway, it simply found the same file twice.. This happened for some more files I noticed. Below is the output with 'remove duplicates' unchecked. This isn't supposed to happen I guess?

~edit: actually notice the difference in capital letters: Programs\.... vs programs\


* duplicate.png (4.27 KB, 550x154 - viewed 305 times.)
« Last Edit: July 12, 2009, 05:17:26 AM by d4ni » Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #316 on: July 12, 2009, 02:01:52 PM »

d4ni and lashiec, can you see if this beta version fixes your icon problem:
http://www.donationcoder..../FindAndRunRobotSetup.exe
Logged
d4ni
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 128


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #317 on: July 12, 2009, 02:11:21 PM »

Hi Mouser,

Your new beta fixes my problem with the Standby and other system power icons, thanks!
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #318 on: July 12, 2009, 02:13:59 PM »

great! thumbs up

(now let's just hope the weird x64 links that i fixed in the previous version still work!)
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #319 on: July 12, 2009, 07:02:46 PM »

Minor release fixes icon problem in previous version:

Version 2.71.01 - July 12th, 2009
  • [BugFix] Icons for shortcut links with custom icon settings were not being shown properly due to change in v2.70.01; hopefully now this is fixed and the previous x64 shortcut/icon fixup stuff is still working.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #320 on: July 26, 2009, 01:04:55 AM »

minor release:
Version 2.75.01 - July 26st, 2009
  • [Minor Feature] Attempt to speed up first display by pre-checking file existence in history.
  • [Minor Feature] You can now use the dolaunch alias command (which launches a result without user having to hit enter), to restart the search, and simulate them pressing enter using \n.
  • [BugFix] The dolaunch alias that was used to show an html page was clearing the page before it could be seen.
Logged
mouser
First Author
Administrator
*****
Posts: 32,674



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #321 on: August 26, 2009, 07:44:24 AM »

New release, mostly bugfixes, but a fair number of them:
Version 2.77.01 - August 26th, 2009
  • [BugFix] - Changing skins preview while options dialog was open sometimes showed larger window than it should.
  • [BugFix] - Triggering toolbar button with .lnk file argument was not resolving the lnk.
  • [BugFix] - Farr was showing more results than it should if an alias used the dosearch action.
  • [BugFix] - Alias action modifier launching was not working.
  • [BugFix] - When launching alias results that were .lnk files, the /showmax type alias arguements were not obeyed.
  • [MinorFeature] - some options moved to new tabs in options.
  • [BugFix] - Moving and deleting items in one of the option lists could on rare occasions lead to an error when loading the ini file on next run (would report bad ini file and reset to defaults).
  • [BugFix] - When option to use numpad keys to launch was set, numpad keys could not be used for memo/html mode typing of numbers (which hindered their use in calculator plugins for example).
  • [MinorFeature] - Using the paste special alias command now pastes \r\n when the \n constant is found in the paste text.
  • [Feature] - You can now customize the result background color for the main results window.

NOTE: As of 8/26/09 I have not yet told the updater about the new version, but if you right click on FARR and tell it to install the new version it will install it.  I'm hoping I can get some reports from early testers before i make the update public.
Logged
Ampa
Charter Member
***
Posts: 589


I am cute ;)

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #322 on: August 26, 2009, 07:55:37 AM »

Just installed and delighted to see the numeric keypad issue fixed! Thank you smiley

Eek - but you broke standard launching with the numeric keypad!!
« Last Edit: August 27, 2009, 06:46:52 AM by Ampa » Logged
alias
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 71


View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #323 on: August 26, 2009, 11:38:35 AM »

Just fyi - the dl on the page is the correct version, but the version and date in the upper right corner still say it's the old one...
Logged
CleverCat
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 1,112


Cat's Are Fun!

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #324 on: August 27, 2009, 02:16:45 AM »

Thanks for the new Background colour option mouser! Now I can match my Window Blinds skin.. Thmbsup
Logged

If you need help - JUST ASK!
Pages: Prev 1 ... 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 ... 22 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.049s | Server load: 0.03 ]