Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site October 20, 2014, 05:58:04 PM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
Free DonationCoder.com Member Kit: Submit Request.
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 2 [3] 4 5 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Locate32 Plugin for FARR by Okke  (Read 65388 times)
Okke
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 26



View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #50 on: September 26, 2007, 09:27:44 AM »

Aahh, rjbull, thanks for noticing that. That would explain it. I'm using 3.0.7.7010 myself so I never had
that problem. Hopefully upgrading to 3.0.7.9220 fixes the problem cettolox had if he was running the bugged version.
Logged
cettolox
Member
**
Posts: 29

see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #51 on: September 26, 2007, 10:09:06 AM »

Uninstalled, installend the new version, all works now !

Thanks,

/Stef
Logged
TucknDar
Charter Member
***
Posts: 1,094


Advanced coder of Nowt

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #52 on: September 26, 2007, 03:22:30 PM »

OH yes thanks! !  cheesy This was driving me nuts and I was sure that it was me doing something wrong huh

Now it's excellent!!
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,108



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #53 on: November 26, 2007, 09:46:37 PM »

Okke: i recently update my Locate32 files but the plugin shows an older version & also it doesn't seem to work.. here's the screenshot..

Logged

Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,678



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #54 on: November 26, 2007, 11:01:19 PM »

Same thing here. I might just revert to previous locate version in the mean time... If the index allows me to!
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,108



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #55 on: November 27, 2007, 12:48:17 AM »

i also downloaded the plugin again and overwrote the existing files inside the plugin folder but there was no difference.. how does the plugin references the locate exe?
Logged

jmj
Charter Member
***
Posts: 42


Author of Locate32

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #56 on: November 27, 2007, 04:51:19 AM »

Locate.exe in 7.11040 and in 7.11250 are broken. The latest version which seems to work is in 7.9220, you can extract locate.exe from there. Actually three should not be any changed in locate.exe and updtdb32.exe between 7.9220 and 7.11250 (but somehow those newer files are again broken, argh!).
Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,108



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #57 on: November 27, 2007, 06:12:22 PM »

thanks jmj, it is a problem with Locate.. i reverted to the earlier version & it's back to normal.. smiley

Logged

Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,678



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #58 on: November 27, 2007, 07:17:34 PM »

Me too.  smiley
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,678



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #59 on: December 16, 2007, 11:58:26 PM »

Is the locate plugin included in the farr beta download by default now ?
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,108



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #60 on: December 17, 2007, 12:12:43 AM »

i don't think so but my updates come via DCUpdater. why not try downloading them from here.. smiley

ok, i did so and can confirm it doesn't come with the Locate plugin.. smiley
Logged

Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,678



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #61 on: December 17, 2007, 12:46:10 AM »

thanks Lanux. The reason I asked is that I just wrote a quick and dirty little guide for how to set up the locate32 plugin ( http://www.donationcoder....c=10505.msg91369#msg91369 ). Maybe I should move it here. What do you think ?
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,108



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #62 on: December 17, 2007, 05:46:37 PM »

that is a cool post, Armando! maybe you should post this guide in a separate new thread so that it would be easier to update.. also spruce it up with some screenshots.. smiley
Logged

Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,678



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #63 on: December 17, 2007, 10:45:18 PM »

Thanks lanux. I'll try to add some screenshots and, yes, why not, post it in a separate thread.
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
losiek
Participant
*
Posts: 6

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #64 on: December 20, 2007, 02:49:39 PM »

Hello.
(sorry for my english Sad )
I found a weird bug in locate32 plug-in. It's related to ' (apostrophe) key procsessing in result list. I found same results with ` (accent) key, so maybe other keys are also affected.
When in search results are filepaths that include ` or ' then next links are messed up:

I see only 3 results (there should be 24). When I use locate.exe manually everything is working fine, every line is correct with CR/LF at end.
I have little sugestion. Could you place execution of locate.exe in seperate thread? Because when I'm typing or changing text to search, and results are updated there is a little freeze for a secod or a half. This is only a minor issue, but it would be nice if you can fix that.

I also have a question - is it possible to make loc results scoreable? That's the only thing that prevents me from making Locate plug-in my primary search engine in FARR (will it ever have an indexed search - it's so slooow now. I've reading some old posts about making it in near future, but I don't see indexing on official feature list... will be it ever made?).

Thanks in adavance
Tom
« Last Edit: December 20, 2007, 02:51:45 PM by losiek » Logged
lanux128
Global Moderator
*****
Posts: 6,108



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #65 on: December 21, 2007, 12:17:30 AM »

hi there losiek!

the 1st problem you mentioned is related to this: Unicode character problem and this problem has been added to the official "bug tracking" thread. also check out this post for some tips on using FarrLocate. smiley


Logged

f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #66 on: December 27, 2007, 08:01:34 AM »

Just started using FARR yesterday, and remembered the Use locate32 with Farr thread. Cursed a bit at not being able to find the plugin, until I smartened up and just looked at the FARR subforum.

Great work, man, it works like a charm! Only thing I would ask is (if it's possible) to be able to customize the "loc" keyword, I'd prefer "!loc" myself so it doesn't interfere with anything else... also, adding the alt+number "big icon" like FARR itself does would be nice, but not as important smiley
« Last Edit: December 27, 2007, 08:03:13 AM by f0dder » Logged

- carpe noctem
vitalyb
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 141



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #67 on: December 27, 2007, 10:13:19 AM »

...Only thing I would ask is (if it's possible) to be able to customize the "loc" keyword, I'd prefer "!loc" myself so it doesn't interfere with anything else... also, adding the alt+number "big icon" like FARR itself does would be nice, but not as important smiley

You can do it yourself: Go to Options -> Plugins -> Click To Examine.. -> Select Locate32 -> Change the value in "Override" textboxes to whatever you want! smiley
Logged
f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #68 on: December 27, 2007, 10:19:01 AM »

Doh!

Thanks, vitalyb smiley

Well, unicode support would be my next pet peeve, then. But I guess that would require locate to be updated, as /? doesn't mention unicode. Iirc the Windows console API *does* support unicode, so that shouldn't be the limiting factor.
Logged

- carpe noctem
Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,678



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #69 on: December 27, 2007, 10:47:23 AM »

Yes, there are some character problems.
f0dder, which version of locate are you using?
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
jmj
Charter Member
***
Posts: 42


Author of Locate32

View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #70 on: December 27, 2007, 11:33:27 AM »

But I guess that would require locate to be updated, as /? doesn't mention unicode.

Locate uses Unicode (at least to write console) if databases use Unicode  (you can check this in the settings dialog of locate32.exe).
Logged
f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #71 on: December 27, 2007, 06:33:00 PM »

But I guess that would require locate to be updated, as /? doesn't mention unicode.

Locate uses Unicode (at least to write console) if databases use Unicode  (you can check this in the settings dialog of locate32.exe).

Oh, okay - then it's probably just the FARR locate plugin that needs updating. Nice to know, should be lots simple to fix smiley

Armando: I'm using locate 3.0 build 7.12260, from the x64 build.
Logged

- carpe noctem
losiek
Participant
*
Posts: 6

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #72 on: December 28, 2007, 05:40:56 PM »

@lanux128:
Thanks for tips:)


Locate uses Unicode (at least to write console) if databases use Unicode  (you can check this in the settings dialog of locate32.exe).
There is other thing. Locate uses Unicode, but Windows console doesn't. In Windows XP console uses old DOS-style 8-bit codepages to display diacritic characters. In my case (polish language) console uses CP852 codepage and standard windows uses Windows-1250 codepage (or full Unicode). So searching works fine but polish letters are displayed incorrectly in FARR (they have different hex codes in those 2 codepages - thanks to M$) and real Unicode characters (Hebrew, Arabic, Greek etc.) don't work at all. Sad
Logged
f0dder
Charter Honorary Member
***
Posts: 8,774



[Well, THAT escalated quickly!]

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #73 on: December 28, 2007, 05:55:01 PM »

losiek: are you sure about this, also if the *W API forms are used, and a proper console font is selected?

The MSDN entries do sound a bit shoddy, like... WriteConsole being able to handle unicode text, but WriteConsole fails if the console handle is redirected. WriteFile can't write unicode chars to a console buffer, but my guess is that it'll work fine if the standard input is redirected with piping (which is most likely the way the locate plugin works).

So... locate.exe would need to detect if the console handle is a console or redirected, use WriteConsoleW for console handles and WriteFile when redirected.

EDIT: when selecting Lucida Console (instead of a raster font), I was indeed able to get unicode output on a console under WinXP, using the following very quick-and-dirty app. The test was saved with notepad, using the "Unicode" encoding (and editing out the BOM marker). Notice the question marks at the top of the console; I tried the "unitest" application first with a raster font, then switched to lucida console and ran it again.

Apparently windows detects whether the current font supports unicode or not, and doesn't actually output in unicode if it doesn't?

Formatted for C++ with the GeSHI Syntax Highlighter [copy or print]
  1. #define WIN32_LEAN_AND_MEAN
  2. #include <windows.h>
  3. #include <stdio.h>
  4.  
  5. #define MAXSIZE 4096
  6.  
  7. int main()
  8. {
  9. char buf[MAXSIZE];
  10. FILE *f = fopen("c:\\test.unicode.txt", "rb");
  11. DWORD numwritten = 0;
  12. size_t num = fread(buf, 1, MAXSIZE-1, f);
  13. fclose(f);
  14. buf[num] = 0;
  15.  
  16. WriteConsoleW(GetStdHandle(STD_OUTPUT_HANDLE), buf, num/2, &numwritten, 0);
  17. }
« Last Edit: December 28, 2007, 06:08:02 PM by f0dder » Logged

- carpe noctem
losiek
Participant
*
Posts: 6

View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #74 on: December 28, 2007, 07:15:53 PM »

@f0dder:
Unfortunately I'm not  sure how does this stupid console work Sad
I think you are right about redirection detection. Look at http://blogs.msdn.com/jun...ive/2004/02/25/79621.aspx. That's exactly the same thing you said:) I used that example in my testapp.

Can you redirect your output to a file (if it'll work at all) and then open it using notepad? In my case displaying using WriteConsoleW and WriteFile works fine but redirection works only with WriteFile (WriteConsoleW gives 0-byte file). But when I open created file with notepad I still get messed Unicode characters Sad

I think that Locate should provide option to directly write results to a file (without console and redirection) or simple library interface for searching.
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 2 [3] 4 5 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.055s | Server load: 0.1 ]