Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 04, 2016, 02:21:52 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: do you have a monitor screen size - 1440 x 900 OR 1440 x 960 pixels  (Read 7098 times)

nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
i'm making 'wallpapers' and decided to check out the different LCD screen sizes.

i'm a bit confused about 1440 x 900 and 1440 x960 screen sizes. according to http://en.wikipedia....i/Monitor_resolution there isn't a 1440 x 900 and yet this size appears in various places around the web as a typical wallpaper screen size.

i'm assuming that there is no real physical LCD monitor that has the 1440 x 900 size and it's just one of those mistakes that no has bothered to correct - so much so, that the 900 has become accepted and correct when it should be 960.

if you do own a monitor that is 1440 x 900 pixels, would you please say so below. and, of course, if someone knows that there are no '900' sized monitors but knows where this 900 dimension came from, i'd also like to know that too.

thanks.
« Last Edit: October 18, 2007, 04:16:31 AM by nudone »

Wordzilla

  • Forum Search Daemon
  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 470
  • Two there should be; no more, no less.
    • View Profile
    • FreeThesaurus.net - The Free Online Synonym Finder
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: do you have a monitor screen size - 1440 x 900 OR 1440 x 960 pixels
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2007, 04:54:04 AM »
Yes nudone, I haev HP w19e here, which has a native resolution of 1400 x 900.

According to http://en.wikipedia....f_common_resolutions, it's WSXGA Wide XGA+.

nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: do you have a monitor screen size - 1440 x 900 OR 1440 x 960 pixels
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2007, 05:52:33 AM »
thanks, Wordzilla.

that does appear to be a better page of information so i'll use that a reference.

sri

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 677
    • View Profile
    • Sridhar Katakam
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: do you have a monitor screen size - 1440 x 900 OR 1440 x 960 pixels
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2007, 05:59:17 AM »
My Fujitsu laptop's native resolution is 1400x1050.
<a href="https://sridharkatakam.com">My blog</a>

nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: do you have a monitor screen size - 1440 x 900 OR 1440 x 960 pixels
« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2007, 08:16:44 AM »
My Fujitsu laptop's native resolution is 1400x1050.
yeah, thanks, that one's in the new page list also.

i think i've got all the different aspect ratios and typical sizes covered now.

Daleus

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 146
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: do you have a monitor screen size - 1440 x 900 OR 1440 x 960 pixels
« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2007, 11:55:58 AM »

I have a Viewsonic that is 1440 x 900.

Daleus, Curmudgeon-at-Large

nudone

  • Cody's Creator
  • Columnist
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 4,117
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: do you have a monitor screen size - 1440 x 900 OR 1440 x 960 pixels
« Reply #6 on: October 18, 2007, 12:56:00 PM »
 :Thmbsup:

Mark0

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 617
    • View Profile
    • Mark's home
    • Donate to Member
Re: do you have a monitor screen size - 1440 x 900 OR 1440 x 960 pixels
« Reply #7 on: October 19, 2007, 07:11:14 AM »
1440x900 on some iMacs too.

Bye!