Welcome Guest.   Make a donation to an author on the site September 03, 2014, 02:00:15 AM  *

Please login or register.
Or did you miss your validation email?


Login with username and password (forgot your password?)
Why not become a lifetime supporting member of the site with a one-time donation of any amount? Your donation entitles you to a ton of additional benefits, including access to exclusive discounts and downloads, the ability to enter monthly free software drawings, and a single non-expiring license key for all of our programs.


You must sign up here before you can post and access some areas of the site. Registration is totally free and confidential.
 
The N.A.N.Y. Challenge 2013! Download dozens of custom programs!
   
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  
Pages: Prev 1 ... 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 ... 47 Next   Go Down
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?  (Read 395252 times)
superboyac
Charter Member
***
Posts: 5,663


Is your software in my list?

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #400 on: January 14, 2008, 03:57:48 PM »

[edit] After thinking about it, I could use the current item list as a datasource. I'll see how this could work [/edit]
Ah!  I see.  OK, if I am interpreting that correctly, you are working on how to do that and you will tell me later.  Great, I'll wait for it.  Thanks.
Logged

PPLandry
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 691


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #401 on: January 14, 2008, 04:01:07 PM »

Correct

You see, it would be easy just to change to that mode. However, I can see cases where one would want it linked to the grid data source, so I need to support both (so need to add some UI for it)
Logged

Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz
superboyac
Charter Member
***
Posts: 5,663


Is your software in my list?

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #402 on: January 14, 2008, 06:15:29 PM »

I'm having some bugs with the html pane.  The problem with the enter key is still happening.  Also, I just entered something in the html pane, and the pane kind of froze, and the same content appeared when I clicked to other items.  Finally, I clicked to another grid and it went away.  Then, I came back to what I typed in the html pane before, and it wasn't there anymore.
Logged

PPLandry
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 691


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #403 on: January 14, 2008, 07:24:21 PM »

I'm having some bugs with the html pane.  The problem with the enter key is still happening.  Also, I just entered something in the html pane, and the pane kind of froze, and the same content appeared when I clicked to other items.  Finally, I clicked to another grid and it went away.  Then, I came back to what I typed in the html pane before, and it wasn't there anymore.
Enter key: see http://www.donationcoder....c=10432.msg95964#msg95964
Lost content: I'll keep an eye open for it. If you can reproduce it, forward the info to me.
Logged

Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz
Armando
Charter Member
***
Posts: 2,674



see users location on a map View Profile Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #404 on: January 14, 2008, 09:34:52 PM »

Then, I came back to what I typed in the html pane before, and it wasn't there anymore.

Did you try a quick search? (Ctrl + Q)
Or a normal one ? (Ctrl + F)
If it's still there somewhere, it should show up...
Logged

"I suppose it can be said that I'm an absent-minded driver. It's true that I've driven through a number of red lights on occasion, but on the other hand, I've stopped at a lot of green ones but never gotten credit for it."
Glenn Gould
PPLandry
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 691


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #405 on: January 14, 2008, 11:33:45 PM »

@Armando:
Using MSWord as the HTML Editor is an excellent idea. Thmbsup Making a full featured editor is a big job which I'd like to postpone if I can. Preliminary test seem good. I can create a word document in a window and load text into it. Menus are OK too. Main thing left to fix: docked toolbars do not show.
Logged

Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,482



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #406 on: January 15, 2008, 05:13:59 AM »

@Armando:
Using MSWord as the HTML Editor is an excellent idea. Thmbsup Making a full featured editor is a big job which I'd like to postpone if I can. Preliminary test seem good. I can create a word document in a window and load text into it. Menus are OK too. Main thing left to fix: docked toolbars do not show.

would that mean we need to have MS office tellme
Logged

Tom
PPLandry
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 691


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #407 on: January 15, 2008, 07:58:37 AM »

User option: use built-in or use MS Word
Logged

Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,482



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #408 on: January 15, 2008, 12:03:03 PM »

is there a daily build there at the mo Pierre? it's not available here at any rate ...
I'm still with version 0.9.21 Beta 01 was hoping to try out some new stuff  smiley
Logged

Tom
PPLandry
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 691


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #409 on: January 15, 2008, 12:23:59 PM »

The daily build is always available here:
http://public.sqlnotes.net/download/sqlnotes/
Last one is dated jan 12th 2008

[edit]
Current build has only 1 major bug: If a grid contains more than 20 columns or so, it will not open. If users experience this problem, please report it to me. This is fixed in the one to come this week  tongue

There are few minor bugs, of course. A bug-tracker system is being put in place with the following twist:
  • Users will be able to use SQLNotes to sync with the bug-tracker and see bug list/status right in SQLNotes !  Cool Thmbsup
« Last Edit: January 15, 2008, 12:36:00 PM by PPLandry » Logged

Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,482



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #410 on: January 15, 2008, 12:26:25 PM »

The daily build is always available here:
http://public.sqlnotes.net/download/sqlnotes/
Last one is dated jan 12th 2008

A new one is coming this week  tongue
thanks. not sure how I missed that undecided  havent gotten it in a while I guess
Logged

Tom
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,482



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #411 on: January 15, 2008, 01:08:13 PM »

Attention all... I created a Wikipedia page to explain what SQLNotes is. The page is not very different from pages of numerous other software.

However for some reason (I know very little about Wikipedia rules/regulations), it has been marked as proposed for deletions in 3 days. One reason given is that only one person contributed... hence the appeal to all to add to the page. Thanks.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sqlnotes

p.s. grap a reference of what you write (and put it ironically into SQLNotes if you wish) in case the deletion is eventually done.

just had a look here,
they seem to be looking for references from other "reliable third party" source
odd in this context - why dont they just download the software to see if it exists !!
Logged

Tom
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,482



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #412 on: January 15, 2008, 01:20:53 PM »

As part of the GTD implementation, new quick Add Item form is now available. CTRL-N to open it. A system-wide shortcut is also available to open it from anywhere (CTRL-ALT-N): (see attachment in previous post)You can enter item text, decide into which folder to put it in (normally, the inbox) and put a due date if required

Plus... now you can show/hide an HTML box. SQLNotes can now much more easily be used as a web-clipping tool:

  • browse to a web page
  • Select some text
  • copy (right-click or CTRL-C)
  • CTRL-ALT-N (will open the above form)
  • paste (right-click or CTRL-V)
  • click Add Item (or Alt-A). An item has been created with your clipping, put in the inbox, ready for you to file it appropriately later-on
  • focus is then restored to the browser (or whereever you were before hitting the hot-key.

ehh, it works nicely ... but how do we bring up the inbox?
Logged

Tom
PPLandry
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 691


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #413 on: January 15, 2008, 01:24:27 PM »

It's one of the grids. If not, create a new grid and name it Inbox (or select from the list when creating)
« Last Edit: January 15, 2008, 01:33:05 PM by PPLandry » Logged

Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,482



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #414 on: January 15, 2008, 02:01:45 PM »

It's one of the grids. If not, create a new grid and name it Inbox (or select from the list when creating)

yeah, I created a grid called inbox and there they all were Kiss
Logged

Tom
PPLandry
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 691


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #415 on: January 15, 2008, 02:09:06 PM »

That's because when creating a new grid, if the grid name corresponds to the name of an existing field, SQLNotes automatically sets the grid source to that field.

But don't forget, data and UI are separate things in SQLNotes.

So if you delete the Inbox grid, the inbox data still exist. And the inbox data can be displayed in more than 1 grid. You could for example decide to show the inbox items along with other items in the ToDos grid (add " OR Inbox" to the source and perhaps to the filter)

I hope that this is clear as mud (or as slushy winter streets)  embarassed
Logged

Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,482



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #416 on: January 15, 2008, 04:12:50 PM »

the inbox data can be displayed in more than 1 grid. You could for example decide to show the inbox items along with other items in the ToDos grid (add " OR Inbox" to the source and perhaps to the filter)

I hope that this is clear as mud (or as slushy winter streets)  embarassed

ehh, I'm learning about SQL since trying to implement this (showing inbox in a different grid) but havent been sucessful so far, the filter bar has disappeared (since adding the daily release I think) I can only find date filter in menu..
added "or inbox" to source (of ToDo Grid), no difference,
added column called inbox but that just shows as tick-box after current entries

Got it I think - show Source bar. hmmm
filter says:-
FollowUp or ((( ToDo < now + 15 ) and due is null ) or urgency >= -7 or (due-now<6)) and ( done is null  or int(now) - done < 5)
can I add it there somehow?
Logged

Tom
PPLandry
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 691


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #417 on: January 15, 2008, 04:14:25 PM »

put it at the beginning Inbox OR FollowUp ...
Logged

Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,482



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #418 on: January 15, 2008, 04:18:43 PM »

put it at the beginning Inbox OR FollowUp ...
Thmbsup
could you though introduce them as sub-items to they same grid?
Logged

Tom
PPLandry
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 691


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #419 on: January 15, 2008, 04:21:47 PM »

put it at the beginning Inbox OR FollowUp ...
Thmbsup
could you though introduce them as sub-items to they same grid?

If you talking about inbox items, they are created without any parent assignment. No parents -> not a sub-item. If you assign parents to them, then yes.
Logged

Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,482



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #420 on: January 15, 2008, 04:22:29 PM »

and how would I temporarily change filter to show done items as well
Figured that - just remove the "and ( done is null  or int(now) - done < 5)" from the end..

EDIT overlapped your reply there, thanks
Logged

Tom
PPLandry
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 691


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #421 on: January 15, 2008, 04:23:28 PM »

or toggle the filter (left of the filter edit box)
Logged

Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz
superboyac
Charter Member
***
Posts: 5,663


Is your software in my list?

see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #422 on: January 15, 2008, 04:31:53 PM »

Does the Excel export work yet?  I've tried it but it's not working for me.  Part of the problem may be that I don't have administrator access to my program files directory, so whatever file it's trying to create may be being prevented.

Also, as far as printing, is there a way to be more selective in the printing?  Like, I would like to print only selected items of a grid (with/without children items), along with their html panes.
Logged

PPLandry
Supporting Member
**
Posts: 691


see users location on a map View Profile WWW Read user's biography. Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #423 on: January 15, 2008, 04:37:44 PM »

Does the Excel export work yet?  I've tried it but it's not working for me.  Part of the problem may be that I don't have administrator access to my program files directory, so whatever file it's trying to create may be being prevented.

Also, as far as printing, is there a way to be more selective in the printing?  Like, I would like to print only selected items of a grid (with/without children items), along with their html panes.

1- Export to Excel works fine here. Writes to the same folder as the database, name=gridname.xls. We can examine why it doesn't work for you.
2- To print with the HTML pane info, best is to do a template based HTML export. See this link:
http://sqlnotes.wikispaces.com/Invoices
Logged

Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz
tomos
Charter Member
***
Posts: 8,482



see users location on a map View Profile WWW Give some DonationCredits to this forum member
« Reply #424 on: January 15, 2008, 04:46:22 PM »

I've screwed things up cheesy

discovered the sort bar, dragged two columns in there to sort by (inbox and..?)
then I (without thinking) right clicked these (in sort bar) and clicked hide columns & cant get them to show

ahhh, if I right click a column heading, select "displayed columns" I can choose them there
(BTW while that dialogue box is open the programme doesnt show in Alt-Tab)

I was making the mistake of selecting Manage Fields from same to try show columns  embarassed

or toggle the filter (left of the filter edit box)
  Sad
when I do that I loose all the sub-items (of the only item with sub-items) and when I click it again
they dont comeback (tried F5) ...
Logged

Tom
Pages: Prev 1 ... 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 ... 47 Next   Go Up
  Reply  |  New Topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
   Forum Home   Thread Marks Chat! Downloads Search Login Register  

DonationCoder.com | About Us
DonationCoder.com Forum | Powered by SMF
[ Page time: 0.046s | Server load: 0.09 ]