Website Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • August 31, 2015, 05:51:28 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?  (Read 440293 times)

PPLandry

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 691
    • View Profile
    • InfoQube Information manager
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #675 on: February 19, 2008, 02:33:01 PM »
Should work. Click to edit, then CTRL-click to open it. Also if not in the item (i.e. another column), you can set it's properties to Hyperlink. Then a single-click will open it.
Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,501
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #676 on: February 19, 2008, 02:37:01 PM »
in the item field, hyperlink wasnt ticked
works now :up:
Tom

PPLandry

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 691
    • View Profile
    • InfoQube Information manager
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #677 on: February 19, 2008, 02:38:03 PM »
in the item field, hyperlink wasnt ticked
works now :up:
I would not recommend setting hyperlink on the item field, it may complicate editing this all-purpose field
Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,501
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #678 on: February 19, 2008, 02:41:27 PM »
hmmm
in my files grid, all the other fields at the moment are tick boxes,
guess I could create one for this - I'm sure I could find other uses for it too!
Tom

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,501
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #679 on: February 19, 2008, 02:43:13 PM »
in the item field, hyperlink wasnt ticked
works now :up:
I would not recommend setting hyperlink on the item field, it may complicate editing this all-purpose field

now it's working in item field (without hyperlink ticked) - just needed a kick-start :D
Tom

PPLandry

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 691
    • View Profile
    • InfoQube Information manager
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #680 on: February 19, 2008, 02:43:51 PM »
hmmm
in my files grid, all the other fields at the moment are tick boxes,
guess I could create one for this - I'm sure I could find other uses for it too!
If you drag-drop files, the system Fields FileName and FilePath are filled. Set FileName to a hyperlink if you want. You can use the item to add description, notes, etc

@Armando: HTMLExport bug has been found and is being fixed
Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,501
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #681 on: February 19, 2008, 02:46:25 PM »
Value-> Sub-items
....
the behaviour seems a bit unpredictable here - (or is that just my understanding agin!)
With "Value-> Sub-items" ticked for "Projects",
If I tick "Projects" for an item, subitems are now ticked as well
If I untick it all are unticked, as expected
But,
if I tick the same item again, sub-items are NOT now selected...


[edit again] also when I add files as sub-items to an item ticked "Projects" they dont automatically get ticked [/edit again]

I've found this behaviour quite helpful today actually - dont know was it intentional !!?  :-\
but if you want to standardise it it's (obviously) no problem to use the properties pane to change stuff
Tom

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,708
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #682 on: February 19, 2008, 02:56:17 PM »
@Armando: HTMLExport bug has been found and is being fixed

Great!!!  :)

PPLandry

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 691
    • View Profile
    • InfoQube Information manager
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #683 on: February 19, 2008, 02:57:49 PM »
@Armando: HTMLExport bug has been found and is being fixed

Great!!!  :)
You can now download the new setup (same version number)
Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,501
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #684 on: February 19, 2008, 03:11:26 PM »
durn
showed the FileName field, made it hyperlink, decided to hide it again,
was resizing columns and got
---------------------------
SQLNotes
---------------------------
Run-time error '9':

Subscript out of range
---------------------------
OK   
---------------------------
I can report it proper if you want but gotta go now ;)
it restarted fine..
Tom

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,708
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #685 on: February 19, 2008, 03:21:04 PM »
Congratulations Pierre : it works!  :Thmbsup:
I still don't know what it was, but you certainly do!  ;D

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,708
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #686 on: February 19, 2008, 03:28:41 PM »
For those who use farr and would like to use google to search SQLNotes forum (it works well for stuff posted a few days ago, but not for recent stuff), I created an alias. Just use the "Import : paste preformatted alias group" feature in farr. In the alias window, right click --->"Import : paste preformatted alias group", and paste that :

Code: [Select]
1000>>>"Search SQLNotes Forum">->Google - $$1 | http://www.google.com/search?q=$$1 site:http://www.sqlnotes.net/Forums/ /ICON=icons\google.ico>+>^searchsqln (.*)

In the farr entry zone, just write "searchsqln " (with a space) and type what you're looking for.
You can change the "searchsqln ", of course (I chose "searchsqln " because the "search"  term is already assigned to a hotkey in my setup... and so I just need to type sqln after it.

[edit : added and alias file for those who'd prefer this : just download and put the file in your C:\Program Files\FindAndRunRobot\AliasGroups\MyCustom\ folder (in find and run robot's folder) ]
« Last Edit: February 19, 2008, 05:51:20 PM by Armando »

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,501
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #687 on: February 19, 2008, 03:48:03 PM »
Congratulations Pierre : it works!  :Thmbsup:
I still don't know what it was, but you certainly do!  ;D
super :Thmbsup:

hmmm
I should search the SQLNotes forum more :-\ good stuff Armando :up:
Tom

PPLandry

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 691
    • View Profile
    • InfoQube Information manager
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #688 on: February 19, 2008, 04:19:32 PM »
Congratulations Pierre : it works!  :Thmbsup:
I still don't know what it was, but you certainly do!  ;D
What it was is the following:
The HTML Export will soon support email-merge. I was testing it before 0.9.22 release and decided to postpone it to 0.9.23 and instead added a context menu and email form to quickly generate emails.

Email merge will work much like the HTML template merge but will generate individual emails with personnalized information. I was testing different methods of generating emails and one of them used MSMAPI.OCX, a MS component to send emails. I had forgotten to include that control in the setup program, hence the form would not open. This is now fixed. Users must re-install using the setup program (no need to uninstall)
Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,501
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #689 on: February 19, 2008, 04:21:41 PM »
Users must re-install using the setup program (no need to uninstall)

presume you mean just users that had problems ?
Tom

PPLandry

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 691
    • View Profile
    • InfoQube Information manager
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #690 on: February 19, 2008, 04:24:27 PM »
Users must re-install using the setup program (no need to uninstall)

presume you mean just users that had problems ?
Correct, other had the control already installed (by some other program).

I'm looking at your error 9 right now, so an update is coming
Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,708
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #691 on: February 19, 2008, 04:53:38 PM »
Congratulations Pierre : it works!  :Thmbsup:
I still don't know what it was, but you certainly do!  ;D
What it was is the following:
The HTML Export will soon support email-merge. I was testing it before 0.9.22 release and decided to postpone it to 0.9.23 and instead added a context menu and email form to quickly generate emails.

Email merge will work much like the HTML template merge but will generate individual emails with personnalized information. I was testing different methods of generating emails and one of them used MSMAPI.OCX, a MS component to send emails. I had forgotten to include that control in the setup program, hence the form would not open. This is now fixed. Users must re-install using the setup program (no need to uninstall)

Oh, I see! Thanks for the info, Pierre.

some more stuff coming on the SQLNotes Forum!... Hope you'll find it stimulating, interesting. Not that you need more work/stimulation, of course...  ;D

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,021
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #692 on: February 19, 2008, 05:45:39 PM »
Pierre, why do you require SQLNotes to have administrator privileges to be installed on a computer?  Why isn't PowerUser status enough?

Congratulations on this thread so far.  It has surpassed the Notetaking thread as far as number of pages (28!).  It might now be the longest thread on DC.  I think the topic is worthy!

PPLandry

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 691
    • View Profile
    • InfoQube Information manager
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #693 on: February 19, 2008, 08:51:22 PM »
Pierre, why do you require SQLNotes to have administrator privileges to be installed on a computer?  Why isn't PowerUser status enough?

Congratulations on this thread so far.  It has surpassed the Notetaking thread as far as number of pages (28!).  It might now be the longest thread on DC.  I think the topic is worthy!
Googling indicates that Power User level is sufficient to install ActiveX (used by SQLNotes)... It doesn't work?
[edit] Found this reference:
http://uis.georgetow...oup.permissions.html
A Power User is able to perform everyday computing tasks and can also perform some administrative-type tasks, like creating and managing user accounts, or connecting to a network printer.  Note, however, that Power Users cannot assign themselves or anyone else to the Administrators group. A Power User can install some kinds of software, but most applications will require Administrative permissions to install.
Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz
« Last Edit: February 19, 2008, 09:01:04 PM by PPLandry »

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,501
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #694 on: February 20, 2008, 08:08:47 AM »
I've got an organisational challenge :)

In my WorkDone/Billing grid, when the work is invoiced it gets an invoice number in the invoiceID field
My problem is with files which show in WorkDone/Billing grid,
They get an invoice number - fine - but this is just the first stage, the same files/drawings will be invoiced again for further work at least once.

How to give a file more than one invoice number in such a way that I can easily see
  • when it was last invoiced
  • all files under say invoice #200

one answer would be to have a field for each invoice but that's not good I think
(or maybe if I had "invoiceID1", "invoiceID2" etc where I could add any invoice numbers - seems too messy..)

another way is simply to give it a second parent (i.e. Invoice#200) and hide that mostly somehow
not sure then - I guess just show two or more numbers in the invoiceID field :-\

if you think there's a better way, shout...
or if it's too difficult I can use another method to keep track of which files sent with which invoice
Tom

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,501
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #695 on: February 20, 2008, 08:16:36 AM »
two things vaguely related to last post

http://sqlnotes.wikispaces.com/Invoices is blank - (maybe you know)

in the most recent samples database (18Feb)
on the WorkDone grid there's one item with an "invoiceID" of SO01
for some reason this wont show here on the Invoices grid when source is set to "invoiceID"
(I havent changed anything except for the source of grid)

PS/edit/ - I really like that in the inventory grid where you can get all the other columns/fields to scroll behind the items column,
hadnt seen that before (that you could lock columns) :up:
Tom
« Last Edit: February 20, 2008, 08:25:29 AM by tomos »

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,708
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #696 on: February 20, 2008, 11:07:02 AM »
So, like you suggested, there are basically 3 choices : 1- for each item, either write your different invoice numbers in different invoice fields, 2- or all in the same invoice field, 3- or... the "parent" way, which could work well.

Multiple (number) fields might probably a good way to sort (ascending, descending, etc.), etc IF your invoice numbers are... numbers only (but I see that you have a SO01, a mix of numbers and letters -- OK that was in the sample grid...  :-[).

The "parents way" looks good to me (probably the bes)... Well : each work could be a parent, and its subitems would correspond to multiple invoices. You'd have only one invoice field, and it would be easy to sort all invoices in "flat view" or even "hierarchical view", depending on your needs. You could have the itemparent field to be displayed in your grid if you choose such a way : it might facilitate seeing which invoice goes with which work (in flat view, for example...).

In any case, you might also have to create a date field called LastInvoiceDate (or whatever), that you'd edit yourself each time you add a new invoice (you could also just rely on the "itemCreated" field if you use the "Parent" way.)


IF you don't want to create a new field for each invoice or use the parent way maybe you could try to type the different invoice numbers in the same field, as you suggested? (And also, of course create the date field called LastInvoiceDate that you'd have to edit yourself each time you add a new invoice.)

For that way you'd have to :

1- Create a  Invoice multi-line and text field (in the "Manage field" window),
2- Create a LastInvoiceDate date field

Close the grid and reopen it to be able to activate the multi-line field (I believe that it's a bug in the Grid component)

Now, you could write each invoice number bellow the previous one (write the first one, shift+enter, then the other one, etc.), and maybe add a prefix to these numbers like : "a-", "b-", etc. (so you'll be able to easily find all "b" invoices, and see how many items have been billed 2 times, etc.

Sorting and filtering ?

--> Use a field-column filter to see specific invoice # : *b-*,*200*, or whatever...

--> Use the filter/source bar to see specific invoice numbers.

ie :
- Invoice alike "a-%" (will show all items-invoices starting with "a-")
- Invoice alike "%-2%" (will show all items-invoices starting with "-2")

[edit : before, i wrote category instead of invoice!!!! sorry : i was thinking in terms of my own grid!]

with this way, I don't think that it would be feasible to sort your invoices or items by number.
« Last Edit: February 20, 2008, 12:59:15 PM by Armando »

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,501
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #697 on: February 20, 2008, 11:33:48 AM »
thanks for the indepth Armando!

I think the parents way is the best too at this stage
Actually,
I could in my "Files" grid make an invoice parent and then, in "WorkDone" use ID number for invoice related work*

So for each invoice the WorkDone will be available in a sortable field, and,
the Files worked on will be separately available on a per invoice basis in the "Files" grid

PS you've given me a few good tips on searching & other stuff there :up:

EDIT/
* in "WorkDone" I have files as Parent items but wont give them InvoiceIDs themselves
i.e. File has subitems that are given invoice number
- SQLNotes01.psd
- - Drawing of same - 2hrs - Invoice#200

EDIT2/
then in files grid I have now added the invoice (as a file/link)
and copied the relevant files to it
- Invoice200.doc     - 4hrs - $2xyz
- - SQLNotes01.psd - 2hrs -  $xyz
- - SQLNotes02.psd - 2hrs -  $xyz

EDIT2/
under Invoices grid, using InvoiceID as source (based on first edit there) and if I show the "ItemParent" field
I should see
- InvoiceID #200                   - 4hrs - $2xyz   
- - Drawing - SQLNotes01.psd - 2hrs -  $xyz
- - Drawing - SQLNotes02.psd - 2hrs -  $xyz

so I have it doubly covered really :-\ Will go with this for a while and see how I get on
Tom
« Last Edit: February 20, 2008, 01:20:16 PM by tomos »

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,708
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #698 on: February 20, 2008, 01:11:13 PM »
You're welcome!

PS you've given me a few good tips on searching & other stuff there :up:

Good! But I'm sorry, nevertheless... about the mistake in my previous post where I wrote :

- category alike "a-%" (will show all items-invoices starting with "a-")
- category alike "%-2%" (will show all items-invoices starting with "-2")

I meant INVOICE, not category (which is the field/column you want to filter)... I was thinking in terms of my own grid...  :-[

BTW, you can get a lot of filter ideas by using the find feature (ctrl+f). You can also "direct" your searches inside a specific grid context and see the results in the very same grid by using the "source view" and "results in" zones. (in that case, just be careful if you've already set up nice filters that you like : they'll vanish, being replaced by the present search, hence new filters -- what I do is save filters I like for all my grids in a special grid named "filters"; in that grid, filters are organized hierarchically, by grid names and filter types (following the source bar UI) : source, filter, sorting).


EDIT/
* in "WorkDone" I have files as Parent items but wont give them InvoiceIDs themselves
i.e. File has subitems that are given invoice number
- SQLNotes01.psd
- - Drawing of same - 2hrs - Invoice#200

Exactly. This is how I was imagining the structure.  :)

PPLandry

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 691
    • View Profile
    • InfoQube Information manager
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #699 on: February 20, 2008, 01:15:13 PM »
what I do is save filters I like for all my grids in a special grid named "filters"; in that grid, filters are organized hierarchically, by grid names and filter types (following the source bar UI) : source, filter, sorting).
Smart idea Armando. (in waiting for an integrated filter management solution)
Planned on this issue are
1- ANDable Named filters
2- Grid history. Move backwards/forwards in the grid setting history
Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz