Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 03, 2016, 07:50:55 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Last post Author Topic: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?  (Read 485323 times)

PPLandry

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 694
    • View Profile
    • InfoQube Information manager
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
SQLNotes: the next generation information organizer
« Reply #525 on: February 06, 2008, 04:38:57 PM »
I still think a good feature would be to save grid "states" I should add it to the list (I'll do it at home).

"Grid > Save item state" doesn't do what you want ?
Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz
« Last Edit: February 07, 2008, 08:47:35 AM by PPLandry »

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #526 on: February 06, 2008, 04:50:12 PM »
Forget about my last post Pierre, I didn't realize you updated the download page with a link to the latest build...  :-[

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,315
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #527 on: February 07, 2008, 07:18:27 AM »
help...lost a few items from ToDo list -
I deselected box in inbox column
F5 gone

"ToDo or due or FollowUp or inbox"
cause they werent selected as done, I presumed they'd not dissapear!
There wasnt much but I cant remember what exactly they were so cant search..


speaking of ToDo, I'll bump this idea:
As part of the GTD implementation, new quick Add Item form is now available. CTRL-N to open it. A system-wide shortcut is also available to open it from anywhere (CTRL-ALT-N): (see attachment in previous post)

You can enter item text, decide into which folder to put it in (normally, the inbox) and put a due date if required
SQLnotes02.png
I'm trying to figure out what they are in the drop down list - are they all yes/no fields maybe/I think - yes, apart from "Adress" :-\
You call them folders (thought there wasnt any of them in SQL :P)

What I would love to see:-
want to organise my ToDo by Projects & maybe a couple of miscellaneous or whatever
If (in this Crtl+Alt+N box) I could save stuff in ToDo grid - but also choose an item (Project) and make the note a sub-item of this item

So then when I go in to ToDo I can look at a particular project or two, or naturally I can sort in some other way if preferred

Then, even better, if I could number them in some way that if I drag an item up the line the number changes
I suspect that's not likely possible - I'm trying to think of some way that I can easily change the order of the items - in order to make them show in order of importance. eg. new item that I want to slot into place three in a list of ten items
Then I could hopefuly show the top few from each project by filtering
Tom

PPLandry

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 694
    • View Profile
    • InfoQube Information manager
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
SQLNotes: the next generation information organizer
« Reply #528 on: February 07, 2008, 07:27:27 AM »
help...lost a few items from ToDo list -
I deselected box in inbox column
F5 gone

"ToDo or due or FollowUp or inbox"
cause they werent selected as done, I presumed they'd not dissapear!
There wasnt much but I cant remember what exactly they were so cant search..

There is a number of ways to find your items. One way is to use the journal feature (You can do this in any grid, even a new one, which you would conveniently call Journal) :
1- Activate the date filter
2- Set the date filter to ItemModified =
3- Set the date filter to display 1 day and click on Today
4- Set the grid source (Grid>Show source bar checked, the source is the left-most text box) to ItemModified
5- Press "Enter" or F5
6- You can then use the date filter toolbar to view items modified for each day/week of your choice
7- Once you've located the items, re-check Inbox.

Yoyu can also use CTRL-F (find), CTRL-Q (Quick-find) or if you know that some other field was filled, open that field (double-click on the properties pane. Many ways...
Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz
« Last Edit: February 07, 2008, 08:47:22 AM by PPLandry »

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,315
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #529 on: February 07, 2008, 07:41:20 AM »
THe "journal" idea sounds good Pierre (I hadnt any other fields filled except some html notes on one or two of them)
will go try
Tom

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,315
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #530 on: February 07, 2008, 08:24:03 AM »
THe "journal" idea sounds good Pierre (I hadnt any other fields filled except some html notes on one or two of them)
will go try

that didnt actually work
(maybe I not using the date filter correctly - no I double checked - followed your instructions exactly..)
but I found them via the IDItem number, they were all fairly recent so it wasnt too painful

I have another problem now - I've lost the three most recent entries in "Billing" too :-\ so I tried the same thing
again without success - even though the missing things are visible in "Projects" (so they not "lost" as such..)
But my main problem right now is that I've changed the grid-source in Billing & want to change it back but didnt keep note of what it was...
Is one (=me!) supposed to keep track of that or is there some easy way to get back to last known or default source :tellme:
Tom

PPLandry

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 694
    • View Profile
    • InfoQube Information manager
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
SQLNotes: the next generation information organizer
« Reply #531 on: February 07, 2008, 08:41:47 AM »
There was a small bug with the date filter when there was no Done field defined. This is now fixed. The Journal should now work
Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz

PPLandry

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 694
    • View Profile
    • InfoQube Information manager
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
SQLNotes: the next generation information organizer
« Reply #532 on: February 07, 2008, 08:46:28 AM »
I have another problem now - I've lost the three most recent entries in "Billing" too :-\ so I tried the same thing
again without success - even though the missing things are visible in "Projects" (so they not "lost" as such..)
But my main problem right now is that I've changed the grid-source in Billing & want to change it back but didnt keep note of what it was...
Is one (=me!) supposed to keep track of that or is there some easy way to get back to last known or default source :tellme:
It is right now "too" easy to change the grid source, and then the grid no longer displays what you want. I'll think of a better, safer way.

There is no Billing grid in the default template, so you created that one?. [edit] The Billing grid as renamed Work Done[/edit] What columns are shown, it can help determine what field(s) were used.
Also, if you find an item that belongs to the Billing grid, give me the filled fields. It will be easy to determine what the grid was based on.
Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz
« Last Edit: February 07, 2008, 11:39:50 AM by PPLandry »

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,315
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #533 on: February 07, 2008, 09:01:17 AM »
hmm,
I thought it had been default -
was there maybe an estimate one and I just changed the name :-\
hey!
it must have been default at some stage - see screenshot here, same columns and name,
http://sqlnotes.wiki...es.com/Time+tracking
that one has "StartDate and enddate and Billing"
which doesnt work here..

gotta go now will try later or tomorrow
Tom

PPLandry

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 694
    • View Profile
    • InfoQube Information manager
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
SQLNotes: the next generation information organizer
« Reply #534 on: February 07, 2008, 09:09:06 AM »
that one has "StartDate and enddate and Billing"
which doesnt work here..

gotta go now will try later or tomorrow
You can try using StartDate as the grid source. Should be fine.
Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,315
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #535 on: February 07, 2008, 03:07:20 PM »
hey, that worked
:up: thanks Pierre! :up:

also figured out why stuff was missing from Billing grid -
the filter was on:-
duration >= 0  and StartDate is not null and BillingNo is null
and I had added some items without start dates


Now, I'm curious -
there's some items here where the job is finished so I've added invoice number to Billing number column -
I wouldnt have thought they'd show with that filter, but they do -
I'm wondering why?

Also wondering is this filter-speak/language something that's unique to SQL or is it something more universal -
and if there's anywhere I can get a few tips with it!!
Tom

PPLandry

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 694
    • View Profile
    • InfoQube Information manager
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #536 on: February 07, 2008, 03:25:01 PM »
Now, I'm curious -
there's some items here where the job is finished so I've added invoice number to Billing number column -
I wouldnt have thought they'd show with that filter, but they do -
I'm wondering why?

Also wondering is this filter-speak/language something that's unique to SQL or is it something more universal -
and if there's anywhere I can get a few tips with it!!
When you make the invoice, you need to set the BillingNo field for each item that make up the invoice.
- Select all items that make up the invoice and in the properties pane, enter the BillingNo. That way, if customers want to know what was done, simply search for the billingNo (CTRL-Q, or CTRL-F, or pivot, or ...  ;) )

As to the filter syntax, the software is called... SQLNotes... Any idea why?
Answer here: http://en.wikipedia....wiki/Where_%28SQL%29
Filter follows the WHERE clause syntax of SQL. Many references available. Also, CTRL-F generates filters for you (try it for all 4 data types) and it will help you determine the syntax.
Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz
« Last Edit: February 07, 2008, 03:30:31 PM by PPLandry »

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,315
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #537 on: February 07, 2008, 03:50:17 PM »
you need to set the BillingNo field for each item that make up the invoice.
now they disappear as expected, logical as usual!  - not my strong point at times though ;)

As to the filter syntax, the software is called... SQLNotes... Any idea why?
Answer here: http://en.wikipedia....wiki/Where_%28SQL%29
I think I'll have to look at that again when I'm a bit fresher :P

Tom

PPLandry

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 694
    • View Profile
    • InfoQube Information manager
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #538 on: February 07, 2008, 03:57:53 PM »
you need to set the BillingNo field for each item that make up the invoice.
now they disappear as expected, logical as usual!  - not my strong point at times though ;)

There is a neat feature that can be real useful at times. When you organize the info under a main parent item (i.e. a customer, a project, etc). and you want to see task items you've done and billed which will normally be hidden because of the filter, you can:

1- Click the filter button to remove it, or
2- right-click on the parent and select "Show all sub-items". This will show under the parent, all its subs. You can then view/group and now even use the pivot table/chart (special thanks @superboyac for this idea). This is a temporary view, which will be removed as soon as a refresh is done (as it should)
Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz
« Last Edit: February 07, 2008, 03:59:37 PM by PPLandry »

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,315
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #539 on: February 07, 2008, 04:54:48 PM »
sounds good...works good too!

so, going back to that filter
this is maybe more an organisational question/thought than an SQL-Notes one...
-
I could really use the same grid for estimates and work-done/Billing
(kind-of what I was doing for the last while, but in a more chaotic uncomprehending kind of way :))
estimate items having no startdate
and work done having start/end dates
then,
simply use filter to remove one or the other as required...

doesnt work though cause source is "StartDate" (estimates having none)-
"StartDate or Duration" seems to work okay with filtering for estimates/work-done
any fundamental objections - shout, otherwise I'll try it for a while

off to dreamland, thanks again for help
Tom

PPLandry

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 694
    • View Profile
    • InfoQube Information manager
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #540 on: February 07, 2008, 05:18:03 PM »
You can instead set the source to something that the parent item has. (project, some other common folder/field value) or else you could switch between 2 filters, one for estimates, one for work done.

What about if the source was duration or some other common field (common to both estimates and work done) ?
Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz

superboyac

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,070
  • Is your software in my list?
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #541 on: February 07, 2008, 06:21:18 PM »
I still think a good feature would be to save grid "states" I should add it to the list (I'll do it at home).

"Grid > Save item state" doesn't do what you want ?
Not exactly.  I don't know if I described it before.  Save Item State means more of save "current" item state.  What I'm talking about is this:  let's say you have a big, complex grid.  There are several different "states" of the grids that is useful to me.  If there was an option to save multiple different "named states" of the grid, that would be very useful.

I realize there is some control over this with the filters, but it's a little different.  the filters don't control what's expanded/collapsed, etc.  ANyway, just a suggestion.  i got the idea from another program.

PPLandry

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 694
    • View Profile
    • InfoQube Information manager
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #542 on: February 07, 2008, 09:27:27 PM »
sounds good...works good too!

so, going back to that filter
this is maybe more an organisational question/thought than an SQL-Notes one...
-
I could really use the same grid for estimates and work-done/Billing
(kind-of what I was doing for the last while, but in a more chaotic uncomprehending kind of way :))
estimate items having no startdate
and work done having start/end dates
then,
simply use filter to remove one or the other as required...

doesnt work though cause source is "StartDate" (estimates having none)-
"StartDate or Duration" seems to work okay with filtering for estimates/work-done
any fundamental objections - shout, otherwise I'll try it for a while

off to dreamland, thanks again for help

There are many ways to handle this. I've proposed a few in another post.

Yet another way would be to arrange it this way
+ Project name
  • Estimates
  •     - Task 1
  •     - Task 2
  • Work done
  •     - Task 3
  •     - Task 4
+ Project 2
 ...
And you can simply expand/collapse the sections you want
Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #543 on: February 07, 2008, 11:57:13 PM »
There are several different "states" of the grids that is useful to me.  If there was an option to save multiple different "named states" of the grid, that would be very useful.

Would that be like outlook's "views" ? I'm asking because I believe I suggested that too during my mega posting phase.

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,315
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #544 on: February 08, 2008, 05:48:43 AM »
It is right now "too" easy to change the grid source, and then the grid no longer displays what you want. I'll think of a better, safer way.

could you get it to remember?
if possible:-
something like a drop down thijingumy showing previous entries?
something like that would be good for filter too!
Tom

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,315
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #545 on: February 08, 2008, 05:55:31 AM »
Yet another way would be to arrange it this way
+ Project name
  • Estimates
  •     - Task 1
  •     - Task 2
  • Work done
  •     - Task 3
  •     - Task 4
+ Project 2

using that structure now with:-
source: Duration
Filter: BillingNo is null
Context Parents; Hierarchy; both on
Sort: by start date -

What does it mean when an item's text is blue?
I have a sub-item showing twice (once as a main item, blue)
I think this is because I had it settings different and the subitem showed as main item and I, without thinking, dragged it into it's parent item.
Something similar but different came up before, at the time, you said-

Quote from: http://www.sqlnotes.net/Forums/tabid/54/forumid/4/threadid/48/scope/posts/threadpage/5/Default.aspx
Your grid setting is to show context parents but not hierarchy. You also requested a sort by startdate.

Since Hierarchy is not set, the grid will display items in the sort order requested. Notice that if you omit the context parent shown, all items are perfectly sorted. This is exactly what you want...
So... Items must be shown in the correct order since you have specified a sort. Now, you also specified Context Parents, so these are added when required.
So,
I turn off Context Parents, refresh, but now the two sub-items of the "problem" subitem above show twice -
see screenshot

SQLnotes05.png

but no matter what I do I cant seem to get rid of those doubled items (tried a few different sorts, with/without context parents) -
It was with the "Work Done" item you see here I had the problems earlier with - showing in Blue -
Have I cloned them or something :-\

can you tell me how to sort it so it keeps the hierarchy, but sorts subitems by date "within" their respective parent items
I had it for a while but cant for the life of me figure it out again :)
Tom
« Last Edit: February 08, 2008, 05:57:40 AM by tomos »

PPLandry

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 694
    • View Profile
    • InfoQube Information manager
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #546 on: February 08, 2008, 08:58:16 AM »
There are several different "states" of the grids that is useful to me.  If there was an option to save multiple different "named states" of the grid, that would be very useful.
Could you not handle this with separate grids ?

Is it only expand states that you want to remember, column configuration or grid source/filter/sort ?

@tomos: I'm checking that up today (blue items are context parents, they should not be displayed but shown for convenience, to give context)
Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz
« Last Edit: February 08, 2008, 09:00:07 AM by PPLandry »

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,315
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #547 on: February 08, 2008, 09:24:42 AM »
dunno will any of this help Pierre...

using that structure now with:-
source: Duration
Filter: BillingNo is null
Context Parents; Hierarchy; both on
Sort: by start date -

when I go back to these settings I get:
_
SQLnotes06.png
_
the Parent "Ardfert" and anything else in it are gone completely

with source as: "Duration or StartDate" (nothing else changed)
I get this:
_
SQLnotes07.png
_
Also, for some reason the Duration also isnt showing properly in Ardfert job
Work Done isnt showing any number and Parent is "0" - should be "4" hours there...

Equation for Duration is
WorkTime( StartDate , EndDate , 8) - ( NonBillable )
Tom
« Last Edit: February 08, 2008, 09:28:29 AM by tomos »

PPLandry

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 694
    • View Profile
    • InfoQube Information manager
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #548 on: February 08, 2008, 09:28:44 AM »
>Also, for some reason the Duration also isnt showing properly in Ardfert job
"0" should be "4" hours there...

Ardfret has a start and end time, so the row equation calculates a duration. Conflict between the row and column equations. One of the two has to win. It seems that the row equation wins, I'll see if it is logical to have it that way. For now you can remove the start-end times for Ardfert

I would set the grid source to a yes/no field named "Projects" (and set it for Ardfert)
Real generosity toward the future lies in giving all to the present -- Albert Camus -- www.InfoQube.biz
« Last Edit: February 08, 2008, 09:42:57 PM by PPLandry »

tomos

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 10,315
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SQLNotes...what is it exactly?
« Reply #549 on: February 11, 2008, 04:18:45 AM »
I would set the grid source to a yes/no field named "Projects" (and set it for Ardfert)
ehh
a bit confused here..

  • There is a column called "Project" already - actually it doesnt seem to allow me to make one called "Projects" :-\
  • I dont understand exactly what you suggest - yes/no I can do, but what do you mean by "set it for.." - do you mean make it yes for current project(s) ?
  • - I do like being able to see all current projects

Ardfret has a start and end time, so the row equation calculates a duration. Conflict between the row and column equations. One of the two has to win. It seems that the row equation wins, I'll see if it is logical to have it that way. For now you can remove the start-end times for Ardfert
-
removed start/end dates -
it still isnt showing the Duration of subitems
This isn't a problem with the other projects... :-\
Tom