Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • September 04, 2015, 12:53:20 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: ahk script to open tabs by hovering  (Read 12938 times)

kalos

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1,369
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
ahk script to open tabs by hovering
« on: October 15, 2007, 04:08:13 PM »
hello

can anyone make a script that will open a tab by hovering in mirc and opera?
also please make a template that we then can easily adjust to other programs as well

thanks

kalos

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1,369
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ahk script to open tabs by hovering
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2007, 05:31:37 PM »
 :(

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: ahk script to open tabs by hovering
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2007, 05:34:37 PM »
I hadn't seen this the first time around.
What do you mean by "by hovering"? By hovering where? And how can you open an empty tab in mirc?

kalos

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1,369
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ahk script to open tabs by hovering
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2007, 08:01:09 AM »
I mean hover over an existing switchbar tab
I didnt say anything about opening an empty tab in mirc

maybe I wasnt clear enough, by 'tab' I mean the switchbar buttons or the buttons in opera of the different webpages that you click to view the webpage

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: ahk script to open tabs by hovering
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2007, 08:38:34 AM »
kalos: i understand what you mean by tab. Making it for opera should be fairly simple, but here's 2 questions:
If you want a new tab to be openened when you hover over the other tabs, how can you select the other tabs? If it works like this, everytime you change tabs, a new one will be opened.

As for mirc, imagine you have 2 tabs open: the status tab and the #DonationCoder tab. What will contain the new tab that is opened when you over each of those?

kalos

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1,369
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ahk script to open tabs by hovering
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2007, 09:59:51 AM »
I never mentioned opening new tabs, I am talking about viewing/activating/bringing-to-foreground/focusing existing tabs

what I say is this:

lets say you have 3 websites in opera (or 3 channels in mirc) opened, so there are 3 existing tabs

to move/view a tab you need to move the mouse to the tab and then click the specific tab you want to view, right?

by the script I request, we wont have to click it, it will focus the tab after x miliseconds you have pointed the cursor over the tab, without having to click

you may see this thread for a similar script for taskbar buttons:
http://www.donationc...94.msg81807#msg81807

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: ahk script to open tabs by hovering
« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2007, 11:04:42 AM »
Ok, now i understand!

I've made one script in ahk that does just that, but only for mIRC. I can't do it for opera, because opera's naming of controls depends on how many tabs are open and my script can't identify when you are hovering over the tab bar.

[edited script]
« Last Edit: October 20, 2007, 12:46:44 PM by jgpaiva »

kalos

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1,369
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ahk script to open tabs by hovering
« Reply #7 on: October 20, 2007, 11:45:00 AM »
it works very nice! thanks!

1) is there any work around for opera?
2) how can I do this for other programs that have tabs? I mean, can you tell me what procedure you followed, some kind of pseudocode, etc
3) where do I specify the hover time?
4) can you make it not to click an already clicked tab and minimized it? it should only click background tabs, because otherwise it flashes the tab (clicks it multiple times)

thanks!
« Last Edit: October 20, 2007, 11:48:18 AM by kalos »

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: ahk script to open tabs by hovering
« Reply #8 on: October 20, 2007, 12:02:56 PM »
1) i have no idea... i can't find any other way to do it :(
2) if you'd like to make another script for another program, you'll need 2 pieces of information: the window class of the application, and the control id of the tab control. These can be found with "window spy" which comes with ahk. On the code itself, these are the 2 values between ". (mIRC and mIRC_SwitchBar1). Just replace those with the values for the other application.
3) where it says "sleep 200", replace with a higher number for more time (or lower number for less time) :D
4) the script isn't aware of the state of tabs (actually, it doesn't even know what exactly it is clicking), so, there's no way to avoid clicking the currently focused tab :(

PS: the version i uploaded keeps clicking repeatedly when you hover the tabs?

kalos

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1,369
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ahk script to open tabs by hovering
« Reply #9 on: October 20, 2007, 12:32:05 PM »
PS: the version i uploaded keeps clicking repeatedly when you hover the tabs?

no, its doesnt do that, it just starts to count next hover time from the time it clicks a tab, and since I have set very low sleeptime, it clicks again

can you adjust the features from the previous script I pasted?

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: ahk script to open tabs by hovering
« Reply #10 on: October 20, 2007, 12:45:37 PM »
Ok... Maybe this solves the other thread's problems.

[edit] check above for an edited version of "focus tabs", maybe it'll solve the problem with flashing tabs [/edit]
[edit2] updated script [/edit2]
« Last Edit: October 20, 2007, 03:58:33 PM by jgpaiva »

kalos

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1,369
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ahk script to open tabs by hovering
« Reply #11 on: October 20, 2007, 03:03:51 PM »
mm it doesnt work well

sometimes it doesnt activate the windows and some other times it produces the flashing

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: ahk script to open tabs by hovering
« Reply #12 on: October 20, 2007, 04:00:20 PM »
Ok.. See the post above for an updated version, with a lower time setting.
Now it doesn't flash, but each time you hover over to select a button, you must take the mouse out of the startbar and then hover over the other button. (i hope you can understand what i mean..)

kalos

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1,369
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ahk script to open tabs by hovering
« Reply #13 on: October 20, 2007, 04:24:12 PM »
yes, I understand but its so inconvenient, the first version is better (even if it flashes)

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: ahk script to open tabs by hovering
« Reply #14 on: October 20, 2007, 05:00:40 PM »
Unfortunatelly, i don't think i can improve the original script :(
Maybe someone knows a way to solve those problems, or can access more information than i can with ahk..

sri

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Niche Review Blogs
    • Donate to Member
Re: ahk script to open tabs by hovering
« Reply #15 on: October 20, 2007, 11:06:10 PM »
I've put together a small script for mIRC tab click on hovering. It's slightly buggy and works only if you have Macro Express (or its player) installed.

To avoid repetitive clicking when on the tab (actually anywhere on the tab bar), I wrote the line that will move the mouse away after clicking once.

Just posting the screenshot of the code:

Macro Express.jpg
<a href="http://www.sridharkatakam.com">My blog</a>
« Last Edit: October 20, 2007, 11:08:12 PM by sri »

kalos

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1,369
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ahk script to open tabs by hovering
« Reply #16 on: October 21, 2007, 08:50:02 PM »
thanks, but since its buggy (not to say that it needs having installed this app) its more unlikely to use this

kalos

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1,369
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ahk script to open tabs by hovering
« Reply #17 on: October 21, 2007, 10:34:29 PM »
jgpaiva your previous version seemed to work better, can you repost it please

thanks

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: ahk script to open tabs by hovering
« Reply #18 on: October 22, 2007, 02:39:01 AM »
Do you mean the version attached to this post?

kalos

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1,369
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ahk script to open tabs by hovering
« Reply #19 on: October 22, 2007, 02:48:46 AM »
I mean the very first version, this must be it, thanks

skrommel

  • Fastest code in the west
  • Developer
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 886
    • View Profile
    • 1 Hour Software by skrommel
    • Donate to Member
Re: ahk script to open tabs by hovering
« Reply #20 on: February 20, 2008, 07:01:19 PM »
 :) Have you tried MouseActivate?

Skrommel
Please stop by my site at  1 Hour Software by skrommel  for downloads and more info.

kalos

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1,369
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ahk script to open tabs by hovering
« Reply #21 on: February 20, 2008, 11:40:02 PM »
yes, I have tried it, it is brilliant!

but I don't think it does exactly what I want it to do:

1) I want to activate-by-hovering the tabs in Opera, just like the "Tab Mix Plus" extension does in Firefox, and NOT to activate ALL the controls in ALL programs (just specific controls, like opera tabs, in specific programs, like opera)

2) I want to activate-by-hovering the buttons in WinXP taskbar (this shouldn't work with other controls)

3) also, it would be handy to activate the Start menu, by hovering over the Start button

I managed to do them with jgpaiva's scripts both, but the problems described in the above posts still exist
« Last Edit: February 20, 2008, 11:43:11 PM by kalos »

iburger

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2009
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ahk script to open tabs by hovering
« Reply #22 on: February 28, 2009, 03:10:42 PM »
yes, I have tried it, it is brilliant!

Tweakui can activate the current window.

Read more: google tweakui x mouse ( link )

kalos

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 1,369
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: ahk script to open tabs by hovering
« Reply #23 on: February 28, 2009, 05:52:10 PM »
yes, I have tried it, it is brilliant!

Tweakui can activate the current window.

Read more: google tweakui x mouse ( link )


ok, but the thread refers to something else