Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • May 05, 2016, 06:51:00 PM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: SOLVED: Screen rotation -> possible in AHK ?  (Read 7139 times)

ak_

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 223
    • View Profile
    • wopah
    • Donate to Member
SOLVED: Screen rotation -> possible in AHK ?
« on: September 16, 2007, 05:16:49 PM »
Well, the title sums it up quite well. I have a new monitor that has rotation capabilities. The manual says you have to download some software to take full advantage of it but it sucks. I can change the screen rotation via the display properties but it takes too much time. So i tried iRotate which is pretty much what i'm looking for, but the hotkeys (Ctrl Alt Up, Ctrl Alt Left, etc) can't be changed, so it's really annoying.

So i thought i could try to do an ahk script to rotate display using hotkeys, the only problem is : i don't know where to start :) So i'm not asking for anyone to do it for me, but i'm looking for any lead or information that could help me getting startes on this script.

Thanks :)

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: SOLVED: Screen rotation -> possible in AHK ?
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2007, 06:42:05 PM »
If iRotate can do it and you only don't like the hotkeys, you could just remap them in ahk :)
I have no idea to rotate the screen in ahk, though.

ak_

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 223
    • View Profile
    • wopah
    • Donate to Member
Re: SOLVED: Screen rotation -> possible in AHK ?
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2007, 08:37:23 PM »
The problem is that these hotkeys already exist in Photoshop, so i'm going to rotate my screen without wanting to :)

Nod5

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 848
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: SOLVED: Screen rotation -> possible in AHK ?
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2007, 03:39:09 PM »
ak_,
if you have an ATI graphics card then the utility ATI Tray Tool (ATT) might work: http://www.guru3d.co...le/atitraytools/189/ .
It is free, supports screen rotation and can be set to use any hotkey you want.
att.png
And if you don't want it running all the time you could make an AHK script that, when a hotkey is pressed, launches ATT, sends the screen rotation hotkey, exits (and on next hotkey press toggles back). You could also easily add a step where some additional tool saves/restores the desktop icon positions (ATT can save/restore icon position but if I remember correctly it's not possible to do that through a hotkey)
And if you don't have an ATI card, you can forget all this. ;D

ak_

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 223
    • View Profile
    • wopah
    • Donate to Member
Re: SOLVED: Screen rotation -> possible in AHK ?
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2007, 06:24:43 PM »
Nod5> thanks, but i have a nVidia card :)

Anyway, i should get "RTFM" tattooed on my forehead because iRotate accepts command line parameters, so i just had to create ahk hotkeys and now it's perfect :) You can also redefine hotkeys but it's not very flexible.

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Donate to Member
Re: SOLVED: Screen rotation -> possible in AHK ?
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2010, 09:03:40 PM »
reviving an old topic but i had been looking for something similar and found the solution via nVidia's DTCFG Desktop Configuration Commands.

Quote from: rotate
Description    Rotate a display to the designated orientation.
Format          rundll32.exe NvCpl.dll,dtcfg rotate <display#> <angle: 0,90,180,270>

Example        rundll32.exe NvCpl.dll,dtcfg rotate 2 90
                   Rotates display #2 to the 90 degree position.

http://docs.google.c...ControlPanel_API.pdf