Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 05, 2016, 04:33:41 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Poll

How much RAM do you have on your PC? (Choose the nearest)

up to 256Mb
up to 512Mb
up to 1Gb
up to 2Gb
up to 4Gb
>4Gb

Last post Author Topic: How much RAM do you have on your PC?  (Read 40313 times)

masu

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 401
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
How much RAM do you have on your PC?
« on: September 16, 2007, 03:29:13 AM »
How much RAM do you have on your PC?

Personally I have 1GB and I am not sure it is enough and if I should upgrade to 2GB?
Find+Run Robot 2.90.01
Windows 7

Grorgy

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 821
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How much RAM do you have on your PC?
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2007, 03:52:10 AM »
i got 760 mb on my celeron 1.5 laptop, would gave got more but its too expensive, or was when i got it, but going from 512 to 760 made a big difference.  On my desk i just went from 1 to 2gb of ram.  Its a dual core amd and the extra RAM has made a noticeable difference in performance once up and running, booting is still a bit slow but ya cant have everything and we are only talking a minute or 2 at most for the whole process anyway

icekin

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 264
    • View Profile
    • icekin.com Technology,Computers and the Internet
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: How much RAM do you have on your PC?
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2007, 03:57:05 AM »
I have 512 MB on my main Windows XP machine and my other one has only 256 MB and runs Debian. But I guess it depends on your needs and what type of user you are. I run very low resource programs (e.g. K-Meleon, uTorrent, xplorer2 etc.) But if I used Firefox, Azureus and Directory Opus to do the same things, I would definitely need 1 GB to work comfortably.

If you use CAD or multimedia programs like those by Adobe, 2 GB is nice to have especially if you run many applications at once. I would advise running SystrayMeter (http://88.191.26.34/...ex.php/systraymeter/) for a few days and observing your RAM usage. If you find the RAM meter in the red too often, consider upgrading. Otherwise, don't bother.

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: How much RAM do you have on your PC?
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2007, 04:16:56 AM »
Win XP Pro SP2 - 2Gb, mainly because I run PhotoShop and Video apps.

mouser

  • First Author
  • Administrator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 36,406
    • View Profile
    • Mouser's Software Zone on DonationCoder.com
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: How much RAM do you have on your PC?
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2007, 05:38:17 AM »
i have 4gb.  from what i understand, upgrading your memory (to at least 2gb) is probably one of the most cost-effective ways to improve your pc.  going from 1gb to 2gb is probably better bang for the buck than buying a new cpu or anything else.

after 2gb or so then you are going to start entering the area of quickly diminishing returns, but going from 1gb to 2gb is a no brainer -- do it.  you'll notice the difference when working with or switching between big programs.  browsers eat a ton of memory.

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,367
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How much RAM do you have on your PC?
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2007, 09:16:47 AM »
4Gb here.  I strongly urge going from 1 to 2.  You'll be pleased when you do that.

scancode

  • Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2007
  • **
  • Posts: 638
  • I will eat Cody someday.
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: How much RAM do you have on your PC?
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2007, 09:24:26 AM »
128/256 mb [one stick is kinda broken, and works when it wants to]
WinXP SP2.
Photoshop. Audio mixing software. Coding. Web browsers. Everything at the same time. Running kinda smoothly :)

yksyks

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 476
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How much RAM do you have on your PC?
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2007, 10:02:38 AM »
Recently upgraded from 1 GB to 2 GB and put the other module into the dual-channel mode. Wow! It feels like a new machine! Recommended.

(WinXP SP2)

Lashiec

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,374
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How much RAM do you have on your PC?
« Reply #8 on: September 16, 2007, 10:49:29 AM »
2 GB seems to be the trend, as that's what I have here. It's advisable to buy that extra stick, now that RAM price is pretty low.

masu

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 401
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How much RAM do you have on your PC?
« Reply #9 on: September 16, 2007, 10:53:05 AM »
thanks for your advice, I bought a second ram module on ebay today.
Hope I will measure a significant improvement over 1GB  :) :Thmbsup:
Find+Run Robot 2.90.01
Windows 7

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: How much RAM do you have on your PC?
« Reply #10 on: September 16, 2007, 12:42:32 PM »
You should have set up a poll - perhaps mouser can edit one in :)

2048 megs here (sounds better than 2 gigs ;)), it's very nice - on my XP pro, it means I can disable the pagefile, have plenty of memory for caching, etc. Considering going 4gig in my next box, although I probably can't afford buying it all at once.

Do keep in mind that if you're mainly using 32bit apps (even if you're on 64bit windows), there's limits to how useful >3gig memory will be.
- carpe noctem

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: How much RAM do you have on your PC?
« Reply #11 on: September 16, 2007, 04:17:58 PM »
I have added a poll ...

Laughing Man

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
  • V for Viktor
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How much RAM do you have on your PC?
« Reply #12 on: September 16, 2007, 07:20:57 PM »
On my desktop: 1 GB, on my laptop: 2 GB

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,367
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How much RAM do you have on your PC?
« Reply #13 on: September 16, 2007, 08:45:30 PM »
I have added a poll ...

  • 512Mb or less
  • up to 512Mb

Explain the difference between the first two choices?

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: How much RAM do you have on your PC?
« Reply #14 on: September 17, 2007, 03:56:15 AM »
Oops ... I'll change it ...

katykaty

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 221
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How much RAM do you have on your PC?
« Reply #15 on: September 17, 2007, 02:19:03 PM »
4 GB - though I'm on XP so only get 3.25. But at the prices these days why have less?

cranioscopical

  • Friend of the Site
  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 4,367
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How much RAM do you have on your PC?
« Reply #16 on: September 17, 2007, 02:35:35 PM »
4 GB - though I'm on XP so only get 3.25. But at the prices these days why have less?

My thought exactly, though it was a little frustrating at the time of purchase :)

Armando

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 2,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How much RAM do you have on your PC?
« Reply #17 on: September 17, 2007, 03:13:59 PM »
But at the prices these days why have less?

Depends where you live and how much you earn...

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: How much RAM do you have on your PC?
« Reply #18 on: September 17, 2007, 03:28:05 PM »
4 GB - though I'm on XP so only get 3.25. But at the prices these days why have less?

There is no reason why you should settle for 3.25 Gb of your 4Gb on Windows XP. I posted a number of articles in another thread about WinXP memory management which says you should be able to use the full 4Gb. You may need to set a boot time switch though (although I think it is default).

Some motherboards restrict memory access so it may not be a Windows fault - but losing 0.75 Gb seems a bit excessive which makes me suspect this in't the problem here.

katykaty

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 221
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How much RAM do you have on your PC?
« Reply #19 on: September 17, 2007, 04:30:07 PM »
4 GB - though I'm on XP so only get 3.25. But at the prices these days why have less?

There is no reason why you should settle for 3.25 Gb of your 4Gb on Windows XP. I posted a number of articles in another thread about WinXP memory management which says you should be able to use the full 4Gb. You may need to set a boot time switch though (although I think it is default).

Some motherboards restrict memory access so it may not be a Windows fault - but losing 0.75 Gb seems a bit excessive which makes me suspect this in't the problem here.
It's because the 4GB limit is the maximum of all memory. That includes a bit for system stuff and the graphics card memory. And my graphics card has 512MB.

Darwin

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 6,984
    • View Profile
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: How much RAM do you have on your PC?
« Reply #20 on: September 17, 2007, 05:57:35 PM »
A meagre 1 GB and my blasted three year old notebook is maxed out. I've had a number of conflicting reports about this - even the manufacturer's support personnel, one of their FAQ's, and both SIW and an old free version of Everest say that I can go to 2 GB, but other sources, including a different page on the manufacturer's site and Kingston RAM upgrade checker all say I'm already maxed out. If 1 GB sticks of PC2100 notebook RAM were cheaper, I'd go for it and accept the loss if it turns out that the BIOS won't recognize more than one gig but alas PC2100 RAM is still pretty pricey.

I keep being tempted by a new notebook but Vista isn't a route I'm ready to take - I played with a freshly booted notebook with 2GB of RAM and Vista Ultimate installed and after boot only 800 MB of RAM were free. I actually bought almost the identical machine (identically spec'd RAM, harddrive and CPU) at Christmas with XP Media Centre preinstalled and returned it (buyer's remorse - kicking myself now) and right after boot it reporting well over 1.5GB free RAM. Discouraging...
"Some people have a way with words, other people,... oh... have not way" - Steve Martin

ljbirns

  • Charter Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How much RAM do you have on your PC?
« Reply #21 on: September 17, 2007, 06:27:57 PM »
I have 1.2 GB on my XP laptop.  I just bought my wife a new laptop ( old one died )
2 GB running Vista Premium Home..
Lew

f0dder

  • Charter Honorary Member
  • Joined in 2005
  • ***
  • Posts: 9,029
  • [Well, THAT escalated quickly!]
    • View Profile
    • f0dder's place
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: How much RAM do you have on your PC?
« Reply #22 on: September 18, 2007, 03:56:16 AM »
It's because the 4GB limit is the maximum of all memory. That includes a bit for system stuff and the graphics card memory. And my graphics card has 512MB.
Wrooooong :) - you just need to make sure the system is running in PAE mode, which should be the default for systems supporting x86-64/NX bit (Data Execution Prevention). But as usual, Microsoft is of course imposing artificial limitations on how much physical memory is supported (see the table at the end of the above link) just to do market segmenting, those bastards.
- carpe noctem

Carol Haynes

  • Waffles for England (patent pending)
  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 7,986
    • View Profile
    • Dales Computer Services
    • Donate to Member
Re: How much RAM do you have on your PC?
« Reply #23 on: September 18, 2007, 04:00:34 AM »
Quite PAE allows NT to address up to 32Gb of memory - they have just imposed the arbitrary limit in XP at 4Gb!

katykaty

  • Supporting Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 221
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: How much RAM do you have on your PC?
« Reply #24 on: September 18, 2007, 02:26:05 PM »
It's because the 4GB limit is the maximum of all memory. That includes a bit for system stuff and the graphics card memory. And my graphics card has 512MB.
Wrooooong :) - you just need to make sure the system is running in PAE mode, which should be the default for systems supporting x86-64/NX bit (Data Execution Prevention). But as usual, Microsoft is of course imposing artificial limitations on how much physical memory is supported (see the table at the end of the above link) just to do market segmenting, those bastards.


Ah, I see.

I've done a bit of Googling and decided that the caveats that come with turning on PAE don't justify the benefits, so I'm going to stick with what I've got just for the sake of £15 worth of memory.

Thanks for the pointers though - I hope someone else reading can make use of that.

I remember scrimping and saving the pennies for my first PC, and having that gnawing feeling that I was wasting my money getting a 40MB (yes, MB) hard disk. And now I'm losing 20 times that amount of memory and I'm just 'yeah, whatever'  :o

 :D