Home | Blog | Software | Reviews and Features | Forum | Help | Donate | About us
topbanner_forum
  *

avatar image

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
  • December 07, 2016, 04:37:50 AM
  • Proudly celebrating 10 years online.
  • Donate now to become a lifetime supporting member of the site and get a non-expiring license key for all of our programs.
  • donate

Author Topic: Problem using Screenshot Captor for games  (Read 3924 times)

JVR

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Problem using Screenshot Captor for games
« on: September 15, 2007, 02:24:34 PM »
Hi,

I just downloaded this software as I have numerous usage for it. One of them is taking screenshots during game sessions. Although it may well be related to me not doing things the right way, I always end up with a black screen. Apparently, from a quick search I did on the forum, it is most probably due to DirectX interfering with the process (running on vista 32-b and DX 9.0c IIRC). Any ideas afor simple workaround this? It is especially important to be able to take screenies on the fly, so Screenshot Captor capability on that count is really just what I need, if I can get it to work!

Thanks for any and all input on the matter.

JV
« Last Edit: September 15, 2007, 02:45:50 PM by JVR »

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Problem using Screenshot Captor for games
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2007, 03:00:10 PM »
Yes, JVR, there's no way for SC to capture those images.
You're better off with using the program's own screenshot system.
Usually, there's a key configurable through the options menu for grabbing screenshots.

Lashiec

  • Member
  • Joined in 2006
  • **
  • Posts: 2,374
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Problem using Screenshot Captor for games
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2007, 03:34:05 PM »
It's better for you to use FRAPS, as most games obscure the screenshot grabbing key (I don't know why). Either that, or you run the game windowed and you grab the shot using the tray menu of Screenshot Captor. That should work most of the times.

JVR

  • Participant
  • Joined in 2007
  • *
  • default avatar
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Problem using Screenshot Captor for games
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2007, 05:13:13 PM »
Thank you for your input guys.

Cheers.

jgpaiva

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2006
  • *****
  • Posts: 4,727
    • View Profile
    • Donate to Member
Re: Problem using Screenshot Captor for games
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2007, 05:16:35 PM »
BTW... Here's the link for fraps!

lanux128

  • Global Moderator
  • Joined in 2005
  • *****
  • Posts: 6,258
    • View Profile
    • Coding Snacks by Lanux128
    • Read more about this member.
    • Donate to Member
Re: Problem using Screenshot Captor for games
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2007, 07:32:34 PM »
yes, Fraps is the better option and also check this thread for a similar topic..



FRAPS show fps, record video game movies, screen capture software.