Mini-reviews on the forum

This page collects various reviews that have been posted by users on our forum. They represent the views of the poster and not necessarily the views of the site administrators. To browse a more complete and up-to-date collection of mini-reviews, check out the mini-review section of our forum here.

Editorial Integrity

DonationCoder does not accept paid promotions. We have a strict policy of not accepting gifts of any kind in exchange for placing content in our blogs or newsletters, or on our forum. The content and recommendations you see on our site reflect our genuine personal interests and nothing more.

Latest Forum Posts

Mini-reviews on the forum

This page collects various reviews that have been posted by users on our forum. To browse a more complete and up-to-date collection of mini-reviews, check out the mini-review section of our forum here.

prev1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 ... 32next

RIPT (Ript) shareable scrapbook-clipping programme - Mini-Review

RIPT - 00 very small.jpg
Originally posted:2014-04-15
Last updated2014-04-15

Basic Info
App NameRIPT - 00 very small.jpg  RIPT (shareable scrapbook-clipping program)
Thumbs-Up Rating :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup:
App URLOBSOLETE http://www.ript.com
App Version ReviewedRIPT v.0.5.0218 (Freeware, 2007)
Test System SpecsWindows Vista Ultimate 32-bit
Supported OSesWindows
Support MethodsNone. (OBSOLETE product)
Upgrade PolicyNot applicable.
Trial Version Available?Freeware
Pricing SchemeNot applicable.

Intro and Overview:
RIPT is a shareable (with other RIPT users) scrapbook-clipping program.
I thought I'd publish a review of this forgotten, elegant program for those who (like me) might find an occasional - if not frequent - use for it. I don't really need it now, as I tend to use:

Continue reading the rest of the entry and discuss..


Micro-review: Scapple

blog clipart
http://www.literatur...atte.com/scapple.php

I LOVE this program.  For me, it is the perfect brainstorming tool I've always been looking for.

It's easy to change the look of each element.  It's easy to put background shapes around a selection of elements.  It can export easily as images, pdf, whatever.  You don't need a "center" like most mindmaps.  It's easy to link things together with lines or arrows.  It's easy to do simple alignments of elements.

I've been looking for something like this for years.  I tried a whole bunch.  Things like Personal Brain are too fancy and complicated.  Mindmaps never worked for me at all.  Visio is too much and too hard to do simple things.  I settled on Edge Diagrammer (thanks mouser!) for a while because it was the easiest of those flowchart tools to use.  Regular notetakers and outliners are not freeform enough for brainstorming.

 :up: :up:

Continue reading the rest of the entry and discuss..


Review of Zeus Edit

blog clipart
Zeus Edit Review

Basic Info:
App NameZeus for Windows Programmer's Editor
App URLhttp://www.zeusedit.com/
App Version Reviewed3.97o 32-bit
Test System SpecsWindows 7 64-bit/Visual Studio 2010
Supported OSesWindows XP/Vista/7 32-bit and 64-bit/8 32-bit and 64-bit
Support MethodsE-mail, FAQ, Forums
Pricing Scheme$89.95 - A lite version is also available for gratis
Trial Version Available? Yes, 45-day no limitations.
Upgrade PolicyPoint in time upgrade scheme, detailed below by the developer.  45% discount available for further upgrades.
Reviewer Donation Link wraith808

Introduction
Zeus is billed as a programmer's editor, but that is selling it short.  It is a text based IDE in the vein of SlickEdit and UltraEdit Studio.  It is fully scriptable, keyboard centric, fully customizable, and includes throwbacks to hardcore programming like Brief, WordStar, Epsilon, and Emacs keyboard emulation.  It supports visual studio solutions (in addition to it's own workspace format), has built in source control integration for Subversion and TFS, and a variety of other features.  In fact, there are so many features, that I'm going to have to break this review up into separate parts.

Review Notes
Many people swear by Visual Studio as an IDE, and I do like what Microsoft has done with it.  But it takes a while to start up, uses a lot of memory, and is prone to crashes.  I love SlickEdit, but over time, I've had to pare down, and I just haven't been able to justify the extravagant expense to use such an editor.  So, I've stuck with Visual Studio, and just used text editors to support it.  I discovered Zeus, and the price is right, and the feature set is right- I'm just hoping that it lives up to the hype on the site.

Click here to read the full review now..


Qiqqa - Reference Management System - Mini-Review

Basic Info
App NameQiqqa - 00 logo (copy).jpg (FREE version)
Thumbs-Up Rating :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup:
App URLhttp://www.qiqqa.com/

Intro:
On 2012-11-04, I made this comment in a discussion thread Re: organize data for research
...[Reference Management software: There is good software in this category that could be seriously useful in research work. For example:
- so this is the belated review of Qiqqa.

Summary description of Qiqqa:
Qiqqa contains everything you essentially need for the five stages of commercial or academic research work/projects:
  • 1. Organize
  • 2. Discover
  • 3. Review
  • 4. Collaborate
  • 5. Create

Most of these projects require collecting and reading a large number of papers or "knowledge items" - sometimes thousands of documents. The sheer volume of these documents can sometimes make it difficult to work with them, sift through them, and keep things under control.
Qiqqa was designed with this task in mind, and it has these main features to help you keep those documents under control and to keep your knowledge expanding coherently:
  • 1. Comprehensive PDF document management.
  • 2. The ability to import documents to the Qiqqa library/database.
  • 3. OCR of imaged documents, with capture of text contained in any imaged PDF documents.
  • 4. Automatic collection/creation of metadata for the documents.
  • 5. "Super Tag" functionality to categorise and cross-reference your document content.
  • 6. Sophisticated Find/Search functionality.
  • 7. Ability to export the contents of your Qiqqa library/database.
  • 8. Knowledge analysis/discovery.
  • 9. Research web browser.
  • 10. Brainstorming (Mindmaps).
  • 11. Knowledge-linking.

Click here to read the full mini-review now..


Google Reader - Mini-Review

Google Reader - 01 Reader view.png
Originally posted:2012-12-16
Last updatedN/A

Basic Info
App NameGoogle Reader
(Online RSS feed-reader or "news-reader".)
Thumbs-Up Rating :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup:  :down:
App URLhttp://www.google.com/reader/
App Version ReviewedThis is a free online, browser-based, service, and the version is always "latest".
Test System SpecsMS Win 7-64 Home Premium, using latest Firefox browser.
Supported OSesAny web browser.
Support MethodsHelp: is via Google help forum.
Trial Version Available?N/A
Pricing SchemeN/A - is a $FREE service only.

Intro and Overview:
I thought it might be helpful/useful to post this review, as it could potentially save people a lot of time (if they were not already using a feed-reader).
There are some discussions in the DC Forum that refer to Google Reader, and these two seem most relevant:

If you don't want to have to spend time wading through the often confusing mass or clutter on a website in order to read something of interest, then you can subscribe to posts on the website, or comments in a forum (e.g., including the DC Forum) without having to post something and requesting email notification of responses - as you normally would have to do.
To do this, you have to subscribe for yourself rather than expect the website to do it for you. For example, I have been doing this for several forums and blog sites for years, including the DC Forum.

Click here to read the full mini-review now..


SysExporter - (Screen-scraping) Export data from Windows controls - Mini-Review

SysExporter - 01 sysexp + Windows update history(800).png
Originally posted:2012-11-16
Last updated2012-11-16

Basic Info
App NameSysExporter
(Export data from Windows controls)
Thumbs-Up Rating :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup: :Thmbsup:
App URLhttp://www.nirsoft.net/utils/sysexp.html
App Version Reviewed$FREE 64-bit version (v1.61). There is also a 32-bit version (v1.61)
Test System SpecsMS Win 7-64 Home Premium
Supported OSesCompatible with Win 64-bit/32-bit.
Support MethodsDownload and Support: http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/sysexp.html[/url]
Help file: comes with the software.
Upgrade PolicyUpgrades are $FREE and loaded to the above website.
Trial Version Available?$FREE - as reviewed in this review. (PayPal Donations accepted)
There is no PAID version.
Pricing Scheme$FREE version only.

Intro and Overview:
There is a general problem in Windows OSes - one that has been a continuing source of frustration to me and probably many others - that many System and application displays often contain really useful data that is effectively "protected" from being copied/used.
I had been looking for a way to capture the data from the Windows update history display (this is on a laptop with Win7-64), to put into a database, so that I could analyse the history for failed updates. Looking through the display manually was becoming a tedious experience due to its functional limitations, and I wanted to automate/filter the analysis as much as possible.

Click here to read the full mini-review now..


prev1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 ... 32next

Share on Facebook
submit to reddit